News

A Nightmare Before Christmas Sequel Is Finally Coming In 2018

Zero's Journey
Via Fanpop

Nightmare Before Christmas: Zero’s JourneyFor over two decades, Tim Burton has withheld permission from Disney to create a sequel to Nightmare Before Christmas, the animated cult classic Disney movie beloved by Disney Goths worldwide. It seems appropriate then, at the beginning of Halloween Season (which officially begins August 1st, don’t try to tell me otherwise) that some agreement has been reached.

For fans who have survived for years on annual re-watches of the movie at Halloween and Christmas, and whatever fun Jack and Sally merchandise they can find at Hot Topic and Disneyland, this comic book sequel is an answered Christmas wish. 

The sequel comic, titled Nightmare Before Christmas: Zero’s Journey, will follow Jack’s little ghost pup, Zero, on an undoubtedly adorable adventure through Christmastown. It will be published by TokyoPop, a company not unfamiliar with publishing Disney content. What will be different, however, is the format. TokyoPop usually publishes their Disney adaptations in standard Manga. Nightmare Before Christmas: Zero’s Journey will be released first as standard single issue comics, which will be available directly from your local comic book store. Then, the series will be concurrently adapted into two different formats. The collected editions will be full-colored standard trade paperbacks, as well as standard black and white pocket-sized manga editions. 

Nightmare Before Christmas: Zero’s Journey will be written by DJ Milky, who has published previous Disney adaptations through TokyoPop. The expected release date is Spring 2018— meaning Halloween and Christmas will come a bit early next year for fans of Tim Burton and The Nightmare Before Christmas!

To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

 

About the author

Megan Rae

Megan is a pint-sized nerd in a big comics world. She loves Aquaman (not just AquaMomoa), ice cream, zines, and her idiot cat, Durin. She works for a rad comic shop in Sunny California. Her Super Powers include changing her hair color too often, awarding herself imaginary Lumberjanes badges, and always having snacks. In her spare time, she reads books without pictures and googles slang to seem cooler. How Lit!

http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=instock.asp?utm_source=Home_290x85_A&utm_medium=promo&utm_content=FreeShip79&utm_campaign=FS_050914

Tweets From The Nerds!

No activity for a couple of days so I thought I would start rattling the... gofundme.com/video-equipmen…