News

Blizzard Opens Warcraft III PTR Remaster

The public test realm for an improved Warcraft III is now live according to a post on the official Blizzard forums. 

WarcraftWith Starcraft Remastered now available for pre-order, many Blizzard fans are whispering about the same for both the Warcraft III and Diablo II properties. A job posting for a “Senior Software Engineer”  includes an interesting bit:

Compelling stories. Intense multiplayer. Endless replayability. Qualities that made StarCraft, Warcraft III, and Diablo II the titans of their day. Evolving operating systems, hardware, and online services have made them more difficult to be experienced by their loyal followers or reaching a new generation.

We’re restoring them to glory, and we need your engineering talents, your passion, and your ability to get tough jobs done.

 

That language has been in previous postings for jobs on the Blizzard career center for around a year or so, giving reason to believe that this project is one that has been coming down the pipes for quite a while.

The full patch notes  include general improvement and gameplay objectives such as:

  • -Balanced creep camp difficulty progression from early to late game
  • -Balanced creep drop tables for better item progression from early game to late game
  • -Item diversity: Varied Level 1 through 6 charged items and Level 1 through 6 permanent items
  • -Balanced all start locations: total amount and starting distance from lumber, equal amount of spacing, equal size choke points, et cetera
  • -Balanced expansion distance from start locations
  • -Decluttered points of interest to reduce visual competition during gameplay
  • -Retextured map surfaces for better visual clarity – both on screen and minimap
  • -Minimized the size of trees and doodads that obstructed player view of points of interest
  • -Added cliff lines or deep water to edges of the map – removing hard edges (aesthetic choice for immersion)
  • -Properly placed trees and doodads on the pathing grid: full-cell Medium Grid to half-cell Medium Grid alternate
  • -Removed the rolling shoreline waves from rolling hills to remove the noise the waves created – remains for cliff shores

Along with those changes – testing for new map pools for 1’s, 2’s, 3’s, 4’s and Free-for-All are open on the PTR.

What does that mean for fans? Well, they are already salivating at the prospects of Blizzard staples possibly receiving a remaster in the footsteps of Starcraft – and hope that a public test realm is just a hint of great things to come for the Warcraft franchise’s continued innovation.


Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Shatter

Alexis is the lead fabricator and designer for Shattered Stitch Cosplay, based out of Tennessee. She has been in the cosplay community over 10 years and is a familiar face at cons large and small all across the Southeast US.

Alexis is a consummate nerd with her genres of expertise and interest being concentrated in Marvel comics and World of Warcraft. Also on her interest list is Top Cow, Aspen, DarkHorse, and DC, as well as most all videogames with her personal concentration being PC gaming (Master Race).

Her costumes span everything from comics and fantasy books to live action, including: Final Fantasy, Game of Thrones, Hunger Games, Studio Ghibli, and Conan.

If you'd like to nerd cred check, step right up and give it a swing. You'll receive your consolation prize as you exit stage left.

Tweets From The Nerds!

EVIL DEAD 2 Comic Book Omnibus & Art Book Launching on Kickstarter - wordofthenerdonline.com/?p=187519 - ...

test Twitter Media - EVIL DEAD 2 Comic Book Omnibus & Art Book Launching on Kickstarter - https://t.co/zQY13Zcy52 - ... https://t.co/tLcr8Gtfi6

TOYETICA VOLUME 1: Perfect for Fans of My Little Pony, Gravity Falls, & Steven Universe - wordofthenerdonline.com/?p=187507 - ...

test Twitter Media - TOYETICA VOLUME 1: Perfect for Fans of My Little Pony, Gravity Falls, & Steven Universe - https://t.co/kjNZeQ4rYQ - ... https://t.co/pbmcPTqYqj

Supernatural Crime Thriller ABBOTT by Saladin Ahmed & Sami Kivela Announced - wordofthenerdonline.com/?p=187501 - ...

test Twitter Media - Supernatural Crime Thriller ABBOTT by Saladin Ahmed & Sami Kivela Announced - https://t.co/a473aTiSbN - ... https://t.co/04ZvsFiljQ

HERO CATS YEAR 1 HARDCOVER: Make Way for the Cutest Heroes on the Planet - wordofthenerdonline.com/?p=187474 - ...

test Twitter Media - HERO CATS YEAR 1 HARDCOVER: Make Way for the Cutest Heroes on the Planet - https://t.co/5dupPiQDSd - ... https://t.co/VMJF2Ohu2U