Books

Anticipated Book Releases for February

anticipated feb 2019 new releases 688x300

 

Anticipated Book Releases for February

 

Just taking a quick peek at the February release schedule will tell you that there are a ton of interesting-looking books coming out in the next month. In fact, it can be almost overwhelming to look at all of them. Here’s a list of some of the more highly-anticipated new releases coming out over the month of February.

Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers – February 5th

Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers
Robin LaFevers – Courting Darkness

Courting Darkness is the first novel in the duology of the same name, as well as being the debut novel for Robin LaFevers. The novel follows Sybella and Genevieve. Sybella is one of Death’s daughters. She lives and is trained at a convent known as Saint Mortain. Genevieve is an undercover agent gone so deep she almost forgets who she is. Events bring them together for a dark and mysterious telling.

The Ruin of Kings by Jenn Lyons – February 5th

The Ruin of Kings by Jenn Lyons
Jenn Lyons – The Ruin of Kings

The Ruin of Kings is described as combining the worldbuilding of Brandon Sanderson and the storytelling of Patrick Rothfuss. Having read an excerpt that covered the first half of this novel, I can agree with that assessment. It’s an epic fantasy that follows one main character, Kihrin, through multiple points in time.

The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons – February 5th

The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons
Kristen Simmons – The Deceivers

The Deceivers is the first novel in the Vale Hall series. It follows a school full of conspiring con artists as they train to do what they’re best at. Only, things go deeper than they ever could have guessed. The novel follows Brynn Hilder as she learns to set the rules for her life, and as she learns to draw lines for where the truth is the only option.

Dark of the West (Glass Alliance #1) by Joanna Hathaway – February 5th

Dark of the West by Joanna Hathaway
Joanna Hathaway – Dark of the West

Dark of the West is the first novel in the Glass Alliance series, and is also the debut novel of Joanna Hathaway. The novel is beautifully detailed, rich and full of politics, human interactions, and battles. It’s described as a young adult fantasy, but that description doesn’t do it justice.

Lady Smoke (Ash Princess Trilogy #2) by Laura Sebastian – February 5th

Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian
Laura Sebastian – Lady Smoke

Lady Smoke is the second novel in the Ash Princess Trilogy. The first novel was a huge success, so understandably this one is going to be highly anticipated. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir.

Black Leopard, Red Wolf (The Dark Star Trilogy #1) by Marlon James – February 5th

Black Leopard Red Wolf by Marlon James
Marlon James – Black Leopard, Red Wolf

Black Leopard, Red Wolf is the first novel in a new trilogy by Marlon James. The novel follows a character named Tracker, who certainly has earned that name. Tracker joins up with a team in order to track down a mysterious boy, only the mission is anything but simple.

Bloodwitch (Witchlands #3) by Susan Dennard – February 12th

Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard
Susan Dennard – Bloodwitch

Bloodwitch is the third novel in the Witchlands series by Susan Dennard. Like the previous novels, it does focus a bit more on one character than the rest; but all of the other characters we’ve come to know and love are also included. Fans have been waiting anxiously for a novel focused a bit more on Aeduan, at least if the fanart is any indication.

Circle of the Moon by Faith Hunter – February 12th

Circle of the Moon by Faith Hunter
Faith Hunter – Circle of the Moon

Circle of the Moon is the fourth novel in the Soulwood series. The series spins off of the Jane Yellowrock series, appealing to fans of that series. The series follows Nell Ingram, an unidentified magical being. She’s part of a paranormal unit called PsyLED, and understandably they get their hands on some of the oddest cases.

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte – February 12th

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholt
Astrid Scholt – Four Dead Queens

Four Dead Queens is Astrid Scholte’s debut novel, but fans are already going crazy in anticipation of it. The world is in a fantasy setting, where the kingdom is split into four quadrants. Each quadrant has its own queen and its own specialty. What was supposed to be the perfect system to keep the peace ends up being a recipe for something darker, as the course of this novel proves.

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas – February 12th

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas
Kate Mascarenhas – The Psychology of Time Travel

The Psychology of Time Travel is another debut novel, but again it’s one that has been highly talked about. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman and Margot Lee Shetterly. It’s a mind-bending time-travel novel, full of strong characters and dozens of twists and turns.
 

The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders – February 12th

The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders
Charlie Jane Anders – The City in the Middle of the Night

The City in the Middle of the Night is the newest novel from Charlie Jane Anders. It’s not attached to any of her other series, and instead is either standalone or the start of a new series. It’s science-fiction heavy, focused on a new world that’s tidally locked. This novel heavily explores concepts of society and self.

The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross – February 12th

The Beast's Heart by Leife Shallcross
Leife Shallcross – The Beast’s Heart

The Beast’s Heart is the newest novel from Leife Shallcross. It’s another retelling of Beauty and the Beast—but it’s sure to be an interesting one. Set in seventeenth-century France, the novel tackles the same plot we all know and love, but with one major twist. It’s from Beast’s perspective.

The Afterward by E.K. Johnston – February 19th

The Afterward by E.K. Johnston
E.K. Johnston – The Afterward

The Afterward is E.K. Johnston’s newest novel. Johnston uses creative storytelling techniques to tell a story of valor and love. Included are characters that are beautifully designed, as well as being so incredibly human. The fact that they’re heroes makes them all the better.

The Dysasters by P.C. Cast – February 26th

The Dysasters by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast – The Dysasters

The Dysasters is P.C. Cast’s latest novel. She teamed up with daughter Kristin Cast to bring us this novel. It’s about super-powered and genetically altered teenagers. As if puberty wasn’t enough to go through! The novel has a little bit of something for everyone, from action, to science fiction, to romance.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon – February 26th

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon
Samantha Shannon – The Priory of the Orange Tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree is the latest novel from Samantha Shannon. It’s an adult fantasy standalone novel, which boasts expansive worldbuilding and delightfully detailed characters. If her previous novels are anything to go by, these boasts are likely made with good reason! The series follows multiple perspectives and kingdoms.

Looking for even more to add to your to-read list? Find more Word of the Nerd reading lists, reviews, and author spotlights here!


Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: