Books

Anticipated Book Releases for March

new releases for March 2019 featured image

 

Anticipated Book Releases for March

It seems like there have been more and more amazing novels coming out lately. February had a whole slew of new releases to look at, and it looks like March is following the same path. Looking at the release list, there are dozens of books coming out. If only reading were considered a full-time job…

Wild Country (The World of the Others #2, The Others #7) by Anne Bishop – March 5th

new book releases for March 2019 - Anne Bishop - Wild Country (Ace)
Anne Bishop – Wild Country

Wild Country is the latest novel in the world of The Others. The order for this book may be a bit confusing to those that haven’t been following the series. The Others’ main plot concluded two books ago; thus, the last two books have been set in the same world, but involved different characters. That’s why it has two different series numbers. Wild Country is perfect for any reader that wants to see more of the world in The Others, plus we get to see more of some of the side characters introduced or hinted at in previous novels.

Shades of Magic Vol. 1: The Steel Prince by V.E. Schwab & Andrea Olimpieri – March 5th

new releases for March 2019 - V.E. Schwab and Andrea Olimpieri - Shades of Magic Vol. 1 The Steel Prince (Titan Comics)
V.E. Schwab and Andrea Olimpieri – Shades of Magic Vol. 1: The Steel Prince

Shades of Magic Vol. 1: The Steel Prince is the first graphic novel by V.E. Schwab. Okay, so I included a graphic novel on the list, but bear with me. Andrea Olimpieri did the artwork. It’s a graphic novel that fits in perfectly with V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic world. It’s a prequel to A Darker Shade of Magic, and is completely original, as opposed to being a graphic novelization. Fans of her series will want to read this one, if for no other reason than to learn about the events leading up to A Darker Shade of Magic.

Shadow Me (Shatter Me #4.5) by Tahereh Mafi – March 5th

new releases for March 2019 - Tahereh Mafi - Shadow Me (Harper Collins)
Tahereh Mafi – Shadow Me

Shadow Me is the latest novella in the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. For that reason alone it’s been highly anticipated. This novella is told from the perspective of Kenji Kishimoto, and focuses on getting balance once again after the events of Restore Me. Hopefully this novella will be enough to help fans limp along until the release of Defy Me.

The Shadow Glass (Bone Witch #3) by Rin Chupeco – March 5th

new releases for March 2019 - Rin Chupeco - The Shadow Glass (Sourcebooks Fire)
Rin Chupeco – The Shadow Glass

The Shadow Glass is the third and final novel in the Bone Witch trilogy by Rin Chupeco. Tea is a bone witch, a witch who has the ability to raise the dead. She hasn’t had a great life, dealing with more love and loss than she can count. With each horrible event, her heartsglass grows darker.

Starport by George R.R. Martin and Raya Golden – March 12th

new releases for March 2019 - George R.R. Martin and Raya Golden - Starport (Bantam)
George R.R. Martin and Raya Golden – Starport

Starport is a graphic novel written by George R.R. Martin. Well, more accurately, it’s the graphic novel adaptation of a pilot script he wrote. It’s described as being a blend between Law & Order and Men in Black. Raya Golden did both the adaptation and the artwork for this graphic novel.

Shout by Laurie Halse Anderson – March 12th

new releases for March 2019 - Laurie Halse Anderson - Shout (Penguin Young Readers Group)
Laurie Halse Anderson – Shout

Shout is the newest novel by Laurie Halse Anderson. Laurie Halse Anderson is best known for her novel, Speak. This novel was inspired by all the time she spent traveling from school to school talking about Speak. It’s a poetry memoir, so it’s not your typical read. It’s likely going to be just as heavy to read as Speak, but just as important as well.

The Bird King by G. Willow Wilson – March 12th

new releases for March 2019 - G. Willow Wilson - The Bird King (Grove Press)
G. Willow Wilson – The Bird King

The Bird King is a magical and emotionally compelling novel. It’s set in 1491 in Grenada. It reads mostly as a historical fiction novel at times, but there’s a lot to make it stand out. Fatima is the last Circassian concubine of the sultan, and her only true friend is a mapmaker named Hassan. Together these two go on a quest like nothing you’d ever expect.

Bloodleaf (Bloodleaf #1) by Crystal Smith – March 12th

new releases for March 2019 - Crystal Smith - Bloodleaf (HMH Books for Young Readers)
Crystal Smith – Bloodleaf

Bloodleaf is the first novel in a series of the same name by Crystal Smith. The novel is being touted as perfect for fans of Red Queen and Uprooted. It’s a retelling of a classic Grimm Fairy Tale, The Goose Girl. It’s an epic fantasy in truest form. There have been many retellings of the classic fairy tales as of late, but The Goose Girl is one writers frequently overlook.

Sherwood by Meagan Spooner – March 19th

new releases for March 2019 - Meagan Spooner - Sherwood (Harper Teen)
Meagan Spooner – Sherwood

Sherwood follows Maid Marian from Robin Hood. Her tale is not the one you’d expect, as things went wrong before this novel ever began, changing the course of her life forevermore. Here Marian will prove that she’s stronger than anyone expected her to be, as she picks up the mantle and continues the fight.

Once & Future (Once & Future #1) by Amy Rose Capetta – March 26th

new releases for March 2019 - Amy Rose Capetti and Cori McCarthy - Once & Future (Little, Brown and Company)
Amy Rose Capetti and Cori McCarthy – Once & Future

Once & Future is a King Arthur retelling—but with a couple of twists. For one thing, the lead character is a girl. She’s the one that gets the magical sword. There’s still a cranky wizard, though, if that makes you happy. The series has a strange sci-fi feel to it as well, bound to please fans of multiple genres.

Sky Without Stars (System Divine #1) by Jessica Brody – March 26th

new releases for March 2019 - Jessica Brody & Joanne Rendell - Sky Without Stars (Simon Pulse)
Jessica Brody & Joanne Rendell – Sky Without Stars

Sky Without Stars is the first novel in a new series by Jessica Brody. The series has been described as being a cross between Les Miserables and the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. That description alone is probably enough to attract readers. The series is a science fiction one, and it’s going to be full of romance, heartbreak (if the comparison to Les Miserables has anything to say about it), revolutions, and power.

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie – March 26th

new releases for March 2019 - Ally Condie - The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe (Dutton Books for Young Readers)
Ally Condie – The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe is the newest novel by Ally Condie. It’s about love, loss, revenge, and so much more. This novel questions what options a person has left, once they’ve lost everything of meaning in their life. It does so in a very unique and enthralling manner, and is going to be an exceptional read.

Looking for even more to add to your to-read list? Find more Word of the Nerd reading lists, reviews, and author spotlights here!


Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: