Reviews

Advanced Review – Loose Ends #1

  • Writer: Jason Latour
  • Artist: Chris Brunner
  • Colorist: Rico Renzi
  • Publisher: Image Comics
  • Release Date: January 25th, 2017

 

Before his first big stateside dope run, Sonny rolls into his old stomping grounds to tie-up some loose ends and make amends with the mother of his child. Things get complicated when he meets Cheri, a no-nonsense waitress at the establishment.

Loose Ends Bring New Beginnings

Good comic books leave readers wanting more. Great comic books give readers a satisfying story in 40 or so pages and leaves them wanting more. Loose Ends is a great comic book. Sonny’s misadventure at Bobbi’s Hideaway serves a dual purpose. First, it incorporates the title of the book. He is there to tie up a loose end with his former girlfriend, Kim. Second, when the meeting goes sideways, it kicks off a new chapter of his life, with Cheri. This dual purpose helps the characters feel lived in while getting us up to speed with their situations. Jason Latour’s (Spider-Gwen) storytelling principles are top notch and I can’t wait to see how the rest of Loose Ends plays out.

loose ends #1 cover
However, a great comic book author is only as good as his collaborators. Fortunately for Latour, his collaborators are powerhouses. Artist Chris Brunner (Southern Bastards) and colorist Rico Renzi (Batman Beyond) bring the art of Loose Ends to visceral life. Brunner’s art is distinct and he is able to load a panel with visual information without overwhelming the reader. Renzi has created a wonderful color palette that he uses to convey tense and perspective. Each character sees the world in a certain way and each flashback has a fuzzy overtone. Loose Ends is a beautiful comic through and through.

Final Thoughts

I am a huge sucker for sun baked Southern crime dramas. So, naturally, Loose Ends #1 charmed the heck out of me. If this review seems light or surface level, that is because I was trying to avoid spoilers. The twists and turns in this issue kept me tense while turning pages Moreover, the stunning art kept me glued to the previous page before moving on. The creative team of Latour, Brunner, and Renzi are completely in sync. As such, the written narrative and visual aspects come together with jaw-dropping ease. Loose Ends runs a mere four issues and more than earns a spot on the pull-list for fans of Elmore Leonard and Jim Thompson.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook.

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Follow Word of the Nerd on

FacebookTwitterGoogle+TumblrPatreonInstagramYouTubeTwitch

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

MJ Smith

MJ Smith makes his home in California, and when not listening to Hamilton, podcasts and writes about pop culture on the internet. He loves board games, Swamp Thing, and The Wachowski's SPEED RACER.

  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: