Netflix Will Officially Be Adapting Leigh Bardugo’s Works


Coming To Netflix

Fans of Leigh Bardugo are rejoicing as word of the news spreads; Netflix is adapting her novels into a Netflix Original Series.

The New

Netflix will be making an eight-episode series based off of two of Leigh Bardugo’s most popular series. They will be combing both Shadow and Bone and A Six of Crows into one series. It’s an ambitious project, to be sure. But the creative team is doing everything in their power to ensure its success.

The series has landed Eric Heisserer as the director. He’s the man behind the smash hit Netflix adaptation Birdbox. Meanwhile, Shawn Levy from Stranger Things has been pulled onboard as an executive producer. That tells us that Netflix is putting a lot of weight behind this project. This is fantastic news for Grishaverse fans!

Pouya Shahbazian has also been brought onto the team, as another one of the executive producers. She’ll sit alongside the aforementioned Shawn Levy, as well as Dan Levine, Dan Cohen, and Josh Barry (the latter three being from 21 Laps).

The best news of all though? They’re keeping Leigh Bardugo on for the project as one of the executive producers. That should mean that the series will do everything possible to stay true to the roots of both series. 

The Series

Shadow And Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The series itself will be titled Shadow and Bone and will encompass the characters and plots of both Shadow and Bone and A Six of Crows. Both series take place in Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse. The Grishaverse is a dark and beautiful world full of creatures, magic, and heroes. 

It’s no surprise that Netflix has decided to pick up the series, considering how many sales the novels have made. Combined the books have sold over 2.5 million copies. And that’s just counting the English copies. Both have been translated into a total of thirty-eight languages and counting. 

The next book due out in the series is King of Scarswhich releases at the end of the month. It’s sure to ramp up the excitement in Bardugo’s fans.

Shadow and Bone

Shadow and Bone is the first novel in the appropriately named Grisha Verse, or sometimes called the Shadow and Bone Trilogy. It’s also her debut novel, so it holds a special place in many fans hearts. This series follows Alina Starkov as her path in life is suddenly changed thanks to events she could never have prepared for. The striking fantasy series is full of danger and monsters, as well as heroes and magic. 

A Six of Crows

A Six of Crows is the first novel in a series of the same name. This one has admittedly probably gotten more attention. Then again, that could just be her fans getting more vocal with time. A Six of Crows is set in the same universe, so all of the attributes inherent to Shadow and Bone also appear in here. But the focus has changed. Instead, the series is, believe it or not, a heist novel. It’s still breathtaking and striking and full of everything the fans have come to love and expect. It just experimented with the world a little bit more. 





Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on


Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: