Reviews

Review – All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

All the Stars and Teeth

Publisher Logo:

Overall
8/10
8/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Development - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 8/10
    8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

All the Stars and Teeth is the first novel in a series of the same name by Adalyn Grace. It’s the start of a tale full of magic, lore, mermaids, and politics.

 

Magic, Lore, and Loyalty in All the Stars and Teeth

All the Stars and Teeth is the first novel in a series of the same name by Adalyn Grace. If you love fantasy series full of legend, lore, royalty, and magic, then this is a novel well worth checking out. Set in a world where magic is real, but so is the responsibility that comes with it, this is a world unafraid to show the darker side of magic.

Amora was raised to be a queen. She was raised (literally) to become the ruler of Visidia. That is, until her coronation took a disastrous turn, showing that she didn’t have complete control over her magic. That was a moment that shook her world. But it also opened her eyes to everything happening around her. Now Amora is determined to save her people from an unseen and ignored threat.

Adalyn Grace - All the Stars and TeethAll the Stars and Teeth is a Young Adult fantasy novel, and it combines many fan-favorite elements. There are determined characters, mermaids, high risks, and intense backstories. This novel has been described as perfect for fans of Caraval and Throne of Glass. Being a fan of both of those, I can’t argue with that statement.

Writing

All the Stars and Teeth was a brilliantly intense novel. This is a novel that had incredibly high stakes, as well as in-depth character backstories and legends. I’ll be the first to admit that the lore of this world was by far my favorite, but I think there was plenty of good reason for feeling that way.

Adalyn Grace’s world-building has brought us a lush world—yet one with darker elements. The magical system was fascinating, and that is a fact that grew stronger as the novel went on. The more I learned about the magic, the more I wanted to learn.

This is a novel that combined many different elements and, as such, had countless subplots. Some of those plots haven’t come to fruition. Not yet, at any rate. Being that this is the first in a series, that isn’t terribly shocking. It does show that Grace is planning ahead. And I’ll admit that I’m more than a little bit curious to see where some of those threads will lead.

Grace’s writing style was fluid, yet intense. She wasn’t afraid to show us the worst that humanity has to offer. But she also made a point of showing us how intent matters, sometimes more than anything else. It was an interesting note to base this series on, but one that has proven to be effective.

Development

All the Stars and Teeth is one of those novels that starts off casually, but quickly grows into something tense and enthralling. The first few chapters took the time to introduce us to the leading characters. But once that was over, this novel quickly turned into a fast-paced read.

I’ll confess that I didn’t like Amora’s character very much at first. She very much read as an entitled princess, especially in the first chapter or two. However, her character grows significantly over the course of this novel, and by the end, I couldn’t help but root for her. So if you’re struggling to enjoy her narrative, just give it a chapter or two before giving up.

One thing I really loved about this novel was how it seemed to get more complex with time. The characters grew up, their motivations changed. The plot itself became thicker and harder to navigate, all while increasing the stakes at hand. If that pattern holds, the rest of this series is going to become even more intense.

Conclusion

All the Stars and Teeth was a thrilling and interesting read. While I’ve seen many of these themes countless times, I still feel like Grace was able to produce something new and unique here. I’m glad that I took the time to read it, and honestly am already looking forward to seeing what the next novel will be about.

For more Word of the Nerd book news, reviews, and reading lists, click here.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2

WOTN on Instagram

  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
%d bloggers like this: