Reviews

Review – Asgardians of the Galaxy #1 (Marvel Comics)

Asgardians of the Galaxy #1 (Marvel Comics) cover (detail) by Dale Keown
Asgardians of the Galaxy #1
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Cullen Bunn
Artist: Matteo Lolli
Colorist: Federico Blee
Letterer: VC’s Cory Petit
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release: September 5, 2018

Nebula is set to bring about destruction and death and it is up to the Asgardians of the Galaxy to stop her!

“Thunderstruck” Asgardians of the Galaxy #1

Nebula is set to bring death and destruction to the galaxy, jealous of her sister’s recent reign of terror (check out Infinity Wars). Nebula has her own ways and weapons to set worlds ablaze and it involves Asgard. Hela, daughter of Odin, sister of Thor has brought together a rather odd group of Asgardian heroes to save the galaxy. Why did she choose these people and what other plans does Hela have for them? It is all here in Asgardians of the Galaxy #1!

Writing

Asgardians of the Galaxy #1 (Marvel Comics) cover by Dale Keown
Cover by Dale Keown

Asgardians of the Galaxy #1 is a heck of a fun book. I mostly know Cullen Bunn from more horror-oriented stories and writings, but he is well versed in the Marvel Universe as well and he flexes that muscle in Asgardians of the Galaxy #1. Bunn scripts a great “get the team together” first issue. It is paced extremely well. Now, the Asgardian part of the Marvel Universe is not my strong point and I have never really been “into” it, but Bunn made me feel right at home even though I was unfamiliar with quite a few characters.

It is a great cast of characters, as well, that compose the team. You have got Hela as the leader, then Thunderstrike as an almost like “rookie” character, Skurge as a little bit of a wildcard, the Valkyrie/Annabelle adds a unique dynamic. Throg the Frog of Thunder brings some muscle and comic relief, and the Destroyer with a mystery pilot adds some great intrigue.

Bunn did a great job of introducing all of these characters and getting the plot going all in one issue. It is a very tricky juggling act that he nailed. He did not spend too much time on introducing everybody, but spent enough time to let the reader get the gist of them. That allowed time for him to develop the plot and get the story in motion. He had a great teaser at the end, but the whole issued played out to let us know what was happening and what the team would be up against. By the end, the reader gets a good sense of the characters and what the story will be going forward.

Art

Matteo Lolli drops some wonderful art in Asgardians of the Galaxy #1. I like the lively style he brings to the series. The characters have nice charm and feel to them. He has some great layouts in the issue and some good character designs. He makes the Hela giant belt costume kind of work; it is still a terrible costume, though. I really enjoyed Federico Blee‘s colors in Asgardians of the Galaxy #1. Blee uses some wonderful bright coloration to depict parts of space and other worlds. It looks great on the pages.

I feel the colors really enhance the tone of the story; it gives it a nice sense of “wonder” to the series. I feel it also enhances Lolli’s pencils and inks. It is solid art, but the mesmerizing background colors really make the images pop.

Conclusion

Asgardians of The Galaxy #1 is a fun book; it finds that nice balance between being serious and a little goofy at the same time. Bunn does a great job of pacing this first issue while getting his team together and laying out the driving force of the story. The art looks great as well, with some great character work from Lolli and some dynamic colors by Federico Blee. I was not too excited about this series when it was first announced but now I cannot wait until issue #2 comes out!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: