Reviews

Review – Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2 (Scout Comics)

Atlantis Wasn't Built for Tourists #2 (Scout Comics) cover (detail) by Wendell Cavalcanti
  • Writing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.5/10
    7.5/10

Atlantis Wasn't Built for Tourists #2

Writer: Eric Palicki
Artist: Wendell Cavalcanti
Colorist: Mark Dale
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen +
Publisher: Scout Comics
Release Date: October 7, 2020

Lucas is a monster of his own and he is good at fighting other monsters. But what exactly is he, and why is the city of Atlantis overrun with vampires?

Overall
7.5/10
7.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

All Vampires Attack in Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2

Well, Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #1 was chock-full of surprises. Lucas, traversing across America on foot, happened upon a young woman that had crashed her car. Saving her life, he took her to the local hospital in a small Oregon town called Atlantis. The sheriff, while very grateful for his help, wanted Lucas out as quickly as possible. Stuck in a jail cell, Lucas was soon assaulted by a mass of vampires! Wow! That is pretty crazy, right? Well yeah, until Lucas turns into some Creature from the Black Lagoon/Swamp Thing type monster and starts fighting back! Now that is what we call a double twist leading into Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2

Atlantis Wasn't Built for Tourists #2 (Scout Comics) cover by Wendell Cavalcanti
Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2 (Scout Comics) cover by Wendell Cavalcanti

Why are these vampires in Atlantis? What does the Sheriff have to do with all this? What exactly is Lucas? There are a lot of questions leading into Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2. We get some answers and a lot more intrigue within the pages, and the small town gets stranger and stranger.

Writing

So, from my review of the first issue, I wasn’t exactly excited that the mysterious vampire element was revealed so early. I liked the creepy, mysterious, eerie vibe Eric Palicki was giving the issue. Feeling like it could have been played out a little more. I did like the double twist that Lucas is also some sort of monster himself. That added a bit more intrigue to the story. So I was a bit skeptical, yet excited, going into Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2.

Palicki picks the issue up and, to my surprise, continues to build an intriguing mystery. Palicki takes all the reveals in issue #1 and builds upon them in Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2. He does a fantastic job of adding intrigue and some good character development along the way in this issue.

The story itself flows nicely and it actually feels like a good serial television episode. We get some interesting things happening and are left with another big shocker at the end. I was pleasantly surprised by how much the story kept my attention throughout. With all the supernatural things happening, it could have gone a different way, but Palicki keeps the story interesting.

Art

The art continues to be all-around solid work in Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2. Wendell Cavalcanti adds some nice angles and viewpoints for story setups throughout the issue. Cavalcanti does a terrific job of adding to the unsettling tone throughout the issue with some delightful panel setups.

He also continues to deliver a nice overall design for the issue. His thicker, a little more textured linework gives the characters and locations a nice “grit” to them. The coloring work from Mark Dale also works well within the world build. Great scene in the woods with the sun slowly setting, that Dale paints. Tons of wonderful orange, reds, and yellows throughout that paint a wonderful scene.

Conclusion

Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2 continues to build upon its mysteries. I was not sure how this issue would go after the first issue, but it continues to keep the reader engaged and keeps you guessing throughout the story. It also doesn’t hurt it is right at Halloween time and this has vampires and monsters in it, to my delight. Atlantis Wasn’t Built for Tourists #2 builds upon the mystery of Atlantis, Oregon, and opens up a ton of new developments.

I think the hardest thing about scoring this issue and series is that everything is pretty good. Nothing that is extraordinary, but also nothing bad, either. It is just good solid work all around. If you like a mystery with a lot of supernatural/monsters mixed in then this is definitely a series to look into.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2

WOTN on Instagram

  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
%d bloggers like this: