Reviews

Review – Batgirl #34 (DC Comics)

Batgirl #34 (DC Comics) variant cover (detail) by Joshua Middleton
Batgirl #34
Overall
7.7/10
7.7/10
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.7/10
    7.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Mairghread Scott
Pencils: Paul Pelletier
Inks: Norm Rapmund
Colorist: Jordie Bellaire
Letterer: AndWorld Design
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: DC Comics
Release Date: April 24, 2019

Barbara Gordon leaves her father’s house after a disagreement. Moving into her own apartment seems easy enough., except when her life as Batgirl interferes when the Terrible Trio comes to town!

“Three’s Company” Batgirl #34

Barbara Gordon has moved out from her father’s home (Commissioner Gordon) after some disputes. She is out on her own and moving into an apartment. Moving is never fun, especially when you don’t have a lot of time on your hands. You know, being Batgirl and all. Crime never stops as the Terrible Trio comes to town and looks to take over in Batgirl #34.

Writing

Batgirl #34 (DC Comics) main cover by Francis Manapul
Batgirl #34 (DC Comics) main cover by Francis Manapul

I haven’t checked out a Batgirl issue in quite some time (issue #29 to be exact). Not going to lie, the cover for Batgirl #34 is what drew me in. I had to see what these people with the Vulture, Fox, and Shark heads were. Luckily for me, this also kicks off a new three-issue story arc, so I picked well. Mairghread Scott is also still the writer for this series. So, I was not totally lost by jumping back into this series. Barbara is working for some electoral candidate and apparently had some political argument with her dad and moved out. She is moving into an apartment and also being Batgirl so, obviously, it is a busy time in her life.

Scott makes Batgirl #34 a pretty solid jumping-on point and in general, the story is interesting. Again, I like the conflict between Barbara and her father. It doesn’t get much play in this issue but the short amount that is in there is good. I am not really feeling Barbara’s internal dialogue. I am obviously not the biggest Batgirl aficionado, but it feels somewhat off to me at times or some of the wording seems strange. 

So, let us get back to the cover and those three characters; they are called the Terrible Trio. They are like organized crime mob bosses. I am really hoping that they are not wearing masks. Like, I googled them and they are they probably wearing masks. I was really hyped that they had these mutated heads. That would be a lot cooler than some Scooby-Doo type villain. I do like Scott’s writing for them; they are interesting characters, but I hope they aren’t wearing masks.

Art

Batgirl #34 also boasts the same art team from my issue #29 review. Well, a different letterer is on this issue. I am still not too keen on the characters’ faces at times; they feel odd and, at times, out of place. I do, however, like the depiction of movement in the issue. They also do some wonderful scenes with Batgirl doing some detective work. Those look fantastic; her face is blacked out and most of the costume as well. It looks very minimalistic. It is a fantastic piece of art and storytelling.

So, back to the Terrible Trio once again. The art team does a great job on the characters’ faces. I am calling them faces! If they are masks they are the realest-looking masks ever (well, the mouths don’t move when they talk) dangit! Anyway, mask, face, whatever, they look great. The vulture head has a ton of fantastic detail to it. I love the fancy suits and gowns they are wearing as well. Great detail in the clothing and it just adds this great look to have these characters with animal heads and these fancy clothes.

Jordie Bellaire does some delightful coloring work on this Batgirl series. She seems to use a little more muted down color palette that looks great. It also works tremendously well for the tone and overall “feeling” of the series.

Conclusion

Batgirl #34 is a solid issue and a pretty good jumping-on point for new readers. I like the plot and storytelling, though some of the internal dialogue may need a little work. The art, for the most part, is stellar as well; a few minor facial expression details, though. I am really hung up on the Terrible Trio—I mean, they can’t just be regular mob boss people in animal masks? I am going to be very disappointed if that is true. It won’t ruin anything storywise, but it will make it a lot less interesting.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: