Reviews

Review – Batgirl #35 (DC Comics)

batgirl #35 (DC Comics) variant cover(detail) by Joshua Middleton
Batgirl #35
Overall
7.8/10
7.8/10
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 7.7/10
    7.7/10
  • Overall - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Mairghread Scott
Pencils: Paul Pelletier
Inks: Norm Rapmund & Jose Marzan Jr.
Colorist: Jordie Bellaire
Letterer: AndWorld Design
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: DC Comics
Release Date: May 22, 2019

The Terrible Trio look to control Gotham’s underworld, Batgirl steps in to stop them. Sharks, Vultures and Foxes…Oh My!

 

Trapped by the Terrible Trio in Batgirl #35

When we last left Batgirl she had been trapped by the dastardly Terrible Trio—three villains looking to take over Gotham’s organized crime racket. Now Batgirl is trapped upside down in a glass cage slowly filling with water! Will the Terrible Trio make good on taking out a “Bat” for Gotham’s underworld? That is not all Barbara Gordon has to worry about. She is missing a very important meeting with shareholders about her company, that could have life-changing implications for her employees! Plus she still has to move her stuff into her new apartment. Trouble abounds in Batgirl #35!

Writing

Batgirl #35 (DC comics)main cover by Francis Manapu
Batgirl #35 (DC comics)main cover by Francis Manapu

I am enjoying the Batman ’66 type vibe Mairghread Scott is giving Batgirl #35. It is a little darker and a little more serious. But having the Terrible Trio (unfortunately just people wearing masks) having Barbara in a deathtrap is all sorts of goofy throwback fun. She also plays with the Terrible Trio well. They have that nice bit of campiness to them, but are still formidable as well. Scott plays it seriously but it is also very tongue in cheek at the same time.

What Scott does extremely well in Batgirl #35 is having good “B” and “C” plots that really make the issue interesting. I really enjoyed the whole thing with Barbara and her friend Alysha Yeoh’s small company. I won’t spoil anything but the meeting with the investors in this issue has some great implications for future stories.

Also, the small plot of Bard trying to help Babs move into her new apartment is amusing as well. It also helps slowly build up his character in new directions.

Art

The art, again, is pretty solid in Batgirl #35. Paul Pelletier’s pencil work looks great. He ramps up the dramatics as Batgirl tries to escape the deathtrap of the Terrible Trio. He paces those scenes delightfully well. I still really enjoy the looks of the Terrible Trio. I know, I am still upset that they are just people in masks. But Pelletier draws those masks with some exquisite detail. Also some great inking work from Norm Rapmund and Jose Marzan Jr. They bring in some nice detailed work. They bring all the background detail to life.

Jordie Bellaire continues to be masterful on colors. I continue to love the more faded-out color scheme she brings to this Batgirl series. It has this nice “edge” to it that makes the book feel a little more serious, even in the goofier scenarios. It also works well with this darker Batgirl costume, giving it a nice “worn” look.

Conclusion

Batgirl #35 is a fun issue. I also like that this is a three-issue story arc. It is paced very well. I still have the same complaints from the last issue, but overall, I enjoyed this issue of Batgirl. The “A” “B” & “C” plots all help fill out the issue and make for some interesting developments. I like the Batman ’66 type vibe with the villains and deathtraps. All around just a fun comic book read.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: