Reviews

Review – Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1 (Marvel Comics)

Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1 (Marvel Comics) variant cover (detail) by Leinil Francis Yu
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1
Overall
6.8/10
6.8/10
  • Writing - 6.8/10
    6.8/10
  • Art - 6.8/10
    6.8/10
  • Overall - 6.8/10
    6.8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Jim Zub
Artist: Lan Medina
Colorist: Marcio Menyz
Letterer: Joe Sabino
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: September 18, 2019

Black Panther’s Agents of Wakanda fight forces around the globe, but they might have bitten off more than they can chew in a small Oklahoma town!

 

It Begins In Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1

Without S.H.I.E.L.D. the Avengers need a support team. A group of heroes that can travel far and wide to do the jobs the Avengers can’t, get intelligence they can’t. Black Panther has looked to fill this void with his “Agents of Wakanda”. He has assembled a group of heroes with diverse skill sets to get the job done. With Wakanda’s technological and financial backing the group has everything set to go. But can this odd bunch of heroes actually get the job done in Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1?

Writing

Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Jorge Molina
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Jorge Molina

I have liked this idea of Agents of Wakanda since Jason Aaron introduced it in his Avengers run some time back. With a group of heroes that has Fat Cobra, Ka-Zar, Man-Wolf, Gorilla-Man in their ranks, what’s not to love? We have seen them in action a little bit in Aaron’s Avengers, but Jim Zub gets to take them out for a spin in their first official issue in Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1.

It is a pretty solid first issue. Zub does a swell job of introducing the characters. It probably feels a little more familiar if you have previously read their appearance in the Avengers, but Zub gets what they are all about and introduces us to some of the roster without too much trouble. I would have liked more of the team together; but I do see why he broke it up into a smaller, more manageable teams for the issue. Zeb does start to build up a little tension in the team. It is a little on the nose but it works okay with the story.

I do like that this is a 2-issue story arc; we don’t get a lot of those. I think it is a good thing for a series like this, having a smaller story arc with the team going on missions and having them somewhat quickly resolved. If it keeps going this way it should be a good way of introducing us to different characters in smaller arcs.

Art

I am not 100% sold on the art in Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1. Lan Medina provides the art with Marcio Menyz on colors and it feels like they don’t get their foothold until the back half of the issue. It seems at the start of the issue the characters just feel off. The facial expressions and just body positions all feel a little weird. The inking also feels a little looser than the end of the issue. The whole issue does feel a little “bland”. The art isn’t bad but also doesn’t really stand out either.

Medina does draw a good Man-Wolf though. He catches a good ferociousness with the character. Medina’s art also looks better when he has a one or two page spread to work with. His art seems to shine on these pages better than when he breaks the story down in panels. There are also some good background details throughout the issue. I am always a stickler for good background detail and Medina does deliver on that part.

Conclusion

Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1 is an okay start to a new series. I like the idea of the group and it certainly has some very interesting characters. I will be interested to see what Zub does with them in the future once he gets his footing with all of them. The art, while not bad, also doesn’t really stand out either. That is probably the biggest thing that might hinder this series, especially being the first issue. Nothing really stands out about it. 

None of it is bad, but there is nothing that jumps out that I could tell somebody to pick up this series. Obviously, Black Panther is there for name recognition, but the other characters are a little deeper cuts. For a Marvel Comics fan like me, that is great, to see Doctor Nemesis or Broo on a team, or like I am going to miss a book that has the words “Cursed with Lunar Lycanthropy” in it! But a more casual reader it is going to need something art- or story-wise to bring them in and keep them invested. There is a nice cliffhanger ending, but hopefully, the creative team picks it up a little to keep this series alive.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: