Reviews

Review – Canto #3 (IDW Publishing)

Canto #3 (IDW Publishing) cover (detail) by Drew Zucker
Canto #3
Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: David M. Booher
Artist: Drew Zucker
Colorist: Vittorio Astone 
Letterer: Deron Bennett
Maturity Rating: Everyone
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: August 21, 2019

Canto’s journey continues; he doesn’t have much time in his first journey beyond his home’s borders, but mystery and danger slow the trek of his quest.

 

“Where the Wild Things Are” Canto #3

When we last left Canto, he and his new Malorex friend had journeyed far beyond Arcana. They were slowly but surely making their way to the hermit who knows what happens to the hearts of his people replaced by clocks. He must know the secret to save his love. Making their way to a lakeshore, they encounter a Kraken of enormous size! Swallowed by the beast, has our hero’s journey ended? Or is there more to this beast than meets the eye in Canto #3?

Writing

Canto #3 (IDW Publishing) cover by Drew Zucker
Canto #3 (IDW Publishing) cover by Drew Zucker

David M. Booher does some solid “simple” storytelling in Canto #3. Now, I do not mean simple in a derogatory manner; it is very good. Booher just doesn’t waste time with any filler. He adds layers to the story without making things too complicating or deviating too far from the main plot point of the series. It is “simple” good basic storytelling that makes Canto a joy to read.

There are a lot of interesting things that happen in Canto #3 that open up a lot of different story and plot points going further. It also sets the stage for what is to come next. With only three more issues to go, it puts a very interesting little twist into the story. Booher adds some great depth to this fun adventure story.

He also continues to add to this world and slowly starts to reveal it. We get a bit of an information dump, but it is done in a very good way that plays along with the story while developing the world around Canto and revealing to the reader about it.

Art

The art in Canto #3 continues to be delightful! Drew Zucker‘s character designs continue to be wonderfully well done. I have gushed about it in my past two reviews for issue #1 and issue #2 but I just love the design for the character of Canto and his “tin” people. Zucker has some great cartooning throughout this issue and series. His style fits so well for the story. It is very animated and cartoony, yet it has that little “darkness” to it as well. 

Zucker also gives off a great sense of motion and movement on the pages. If Canto is jumping or running, you really feel like he is moving on the pages. Zucker does great panel layouts and structures unfolding the story in interesting ways as well.

Vittorio Astone‘s coloring work fits perfectly with Zucker’s style. It, again, has that nice effect of being bright and fits the animated feel, but can also turn darker and more serious as the story permits. I like the more “washed out” faded look of the flashbacks as well. It feels like a tale being told from an old scripture; that is excellent. 

Conclusion

Canto #3 is another great entry in this series. Our hero, Canto, continues to explore the world outside of his city’s borders. He is finally free, but he does not let that deter him from his mission to save his love. The story is exciting and adventurous with tons of heart through and through. The art fits the story perfectly well and delivers some magnificent visuals. This is a great all-ages comic book, I feel you could give this to anyone probably 6 and up and they would really enjoy it.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: