Reviews

Review – Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 (IDW Publishing)

Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 (IDW Publishing) cover (detail) by Drew Zucker
  • Writing - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Art - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10

Canto II: The Hollow Men #3

Writer: David M. Booher
Artist: Drew Zucker
Inker: Phillip Sevy
Colorist: Vittorio Astone
Letterer: AndWorld Design
Maturity Rating: Everyone
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: October 28, 2020

Canto and his party’s quest to save his people is off to a horrendous start; even his faithful friend Aulaura has lost all hope. Can Canto will himself to continue his journey, or is it all over before it has even really begun?

 

 

Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Hope Is Not Lost” Canto II: The Hollow Men #3

Canto’s people’s time is literally counting down. The Shrouded Man’s curse on their clocks has their time quickly running out. Canto and his party started their journey strong, but in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 it seems all hope is lost. Canto thought his friend Aulaura would be the help he and his friends needed. Aulaura is a mighty warrior, and helped him in his previous fight against the Shrouded Man. But it seems all her fight and vigor has been taken out of her. The Shrouded Man took his revenge on her people and turned them to mere husks of themselves. Though discouraged, Canto cannot let Aulaura’s loss of faith stop his hope and fight for his people.

Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 (IDW Publishing) cover by Drew Zucker
Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 (IDW Publishing) cover by Drew Zucker

As the Furies attacked, Canto and his crew fought virtuously and defeated the enemy, for now. In the ruckus, Aulaura’s pet dropped Canto a map that may help his journey. But the river has turned into a waterfall and Canto is slowly sinking to the bottom. Is this the end of the journey in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3?

Writing

I cannot get over how much I adore David M. Booher‘s dialogue in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 and just the series in general. It has such and elegant flow and feel to it. The ever-hopefulness of Canto just shines through. Booher touches a nice chord with Canto his inner thoughts and feelings with the ever-hopefulness he portrays. The bit of narration we get is also extremely well done and thought provoking at the same time.

As much as I love Booher’s writing, I do feel a little struggle with this larger cast we find ourselves with. I talked about this a little in my previous reviews. But with what happens in the pages of Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 I wish the other characters in Canto’s party had a little more time to shine. I still feel we do not know them all too well.

I like the story in this second volume of Canto; Booher toes that line of being very dark, yet still kid-friendly, and it makes for an incredible read. The story continues to suck me in. There are some heart-wrenching moments and some standout character moments for Canto once again in this issue.

Art

Drew Zucker‘s art continues to shine in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3. Fantastic character work as Zucker once again portrays great emotions and expressions across the board. It helps the story being told tremendously when you can “feel” the emotions coming off the pages from the characters.

This is the first time I am seeing inking credit on the series for Phillip Sevy. No huge, noticeable changes, maybe a tad bit more textured or a tiny rougher line work? But nothing jarring; it fits right in with what we are used to.

There is a fantastic scene in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 of Canto standing before the Shrouded Man. Just the way the scene is set and “shot” is incredible, with the Shrouded Man looming over Canto and giving him a speech. The dialogue between the two is incredible. But the posture and unwavering look of Canto tells a whole story. Also, the colors in that scene, by Vittorio Astone, are delightful. The chalky purple just looks phenomenal! 

Great lettering work from AndWorld Design in this issue as well. There are several different spots where the lettering changes up a bit and it adds just that extra bit of “flavor” to the story.

Conclusion

Man, if you haven’t been reading Canto then you are really missing out on something special. The creative team has been firing on all cylinders since the first volume and Canto II: The Hollow Men #3 continues the trend. It has just been a wonderful journey so far, and things are heating up in this second volume.

Canto and his crew have hit hard times, as their journey to save their people from the Shrouded Man’s curse has been full of perils and folly. Things do not seem to be looking up, but Canto continues to be the guiding light of hope. But has that light started to fade in Canto II: The Hollow Men #3?


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • 160x600
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
%d bloggers like this: