Reviews

Review- Cold Spots #1 (Image Comics)

Cold Spots #1 Cover Artist: Mark Torres
Cold Spots #1 Cover Artist: Mark Torres
Cold Spots #1
Overall
7.3/10
7.3/10
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 6.8/10
    6.8/10
  • Overall - 7.3/10
    7.3/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Cullen Bunn
Artist: Mark Torres
Letterer: Simon Bowland
Maturity Rating: Mature
Publisher: Image Comics
Release: August 22, 2018

Dan Kerr once abandoned his wife and unborn child, now he has been brought back to find them. Something sinister lurks in the shadows and the dead do not stay dead in Cold Spots #1.

Dead and Cold in Cold Spots #1

On Quarrel Island the shadows of the dead have been appearing along with a bitter cold. What has brought them back and who do they seek? Dan Kerr has come to the Island to find his wife and daughter that he abandoned many years ago. Confronting his past and inner demons will not be the only thing he faces in Cold Spots #1.

Writing

Cold Spots #1 (of 5) is another horror/supernatural thriller from writer Cullen Bunn. Bunn is no stranger to horror comics penning series like The Unsound, The Sixth Gun, and Harrow County among many others. Bunn starts Cold Spots #1 with a nice, pardon the pun, cold open. We get the gist in the opening scenes that this is going to be a supernatural thriller of a story. I like that Bunn gets the story rolling pretty quickly with this issue, but also gives us ample mystery to keep the reader involved. We are given little bits of information about our main character, Dan Kerr, but nothing is really directly given. Things are hinted at or vaguely mentioned at most. Honestly, it is the solicit to Cold Spots #1 that gives you the information about the people he is searching for, his wife and daughter.

Cold Spots #1 Cover Artist: Mark Torres
Cold Spots #1 Cover Artist: Mark Torres

I kind of like and dislike the vague storytelling Bunn uses in Cold Spots #1. It does help build up the mysterious notion of the story and play up the whole supernatural thriller aspect of the plot. You really do not know who this guy is or why the person who hired him hates him (it makes sense after reading the solicit). It also helps build interest in continuing to read the story because these questions are not answered.

Double-Edged Sword

On the other hand, it is hard to build a connection right off the bat when you really have no sense of who Dan Kerr is. We kind of piece together he is some sort of private investigator or something like that but other than that I really know nothing about him. Besides the solicit telling me he abandoned his wife and unborn child which doesn’t make me want to root for him, but also has me interested in the “why” aspect. So as you can see it has its negative and positive aspects.

Bunn does do the supernatural stuff very well and he knows how to script a creepy story. He builds up more of the horror elements of the story and gives Cold Spots #1 some haunting scenes.

Art

Cold Hands #1 is brought to life by artist Mark Torres. I am somewhat familiar with Torres work form TMNT Universe #21 and #22. I was greatly impressed with his eye for detail and knack for making each character unique and distinguishable. All this transfers over to Cold Spots #1 or at least the last few pages. He gives the characters and their surroundings wonderful detail and brings about a moody atmosphere. Each character is very recognizable and has their own traits and feel. He has a great cartooning style that has that nice mix of realism with a little-animated exaggeration.

The first half or so of Cold Spots #1 feels odd. Torres gives each scene an odd color wash. Some scenes are bathed in a green while others have these bright pinks and reds. It is very odd and kind of throws off his pencils and inks.  The characters in the pages lack the detail he normally gives them. Plus it makes it odder when the back half of the issue is colored “normally”. 

Conclusion

I enjoyed the mysterious take in Cold Spots #1. Bunn toes that line of giving us enough information to stay interested but not enough to spoil the mystery. Sometimes it goes over one way or the other but for the most part, he hits the mark. The art is a little hit or miss as well. While I like Torres eye for detail and character design, the coloring in the first half of the issue really throws everything off from a storytelling standpoint. Cold Spots #1 is a solid supernatural thriller. While not without some flaws story and art wise it is an interesting mystery with a haunting vibe to it that has me wanting to learn more.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: