Books

Review – Come Tumbling Down

Come tumbling down Feature
Come Tumbling Down

Book Title: Come Tumbling Down

Book Description: “The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward Children series, Come Tumbling Down picks up the threads left dangling by Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones When Jack left Eleanor West's School for Wayward Children she was carrying the body of her deliciously deranged sister--whom she had recently murdered in a fit of righteous justice--back to their home on the Moors. But death in their adopted world isn't always as permanent as it is here, and when Jack is herself carried back into the school, it becomes clear that something has happened to her. Something terrible. Something of which only the maddest of scientists could conceive. Something only her friends are equipped to help her overcome. Eleanor West's "No Quests" rule is about to be broken.”

Book Author: Seanan McGuire

Book Format: Hardcover

Publisher Logo:

Date published: 2020-01-07

Number Of Pages: 208

Overall
9.5/10
9.5/10
  • Writing - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Development - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Overall - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

A Forbidden Quest in Come Tumbling Down

 

Come Tumbling Down is the fifth novella in Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series. If you’ve never heard of it, then trust me; you’re missing out. Eleanor West is a peculiar woman. She runs a school for Wayward Children – the children who have gone missing and come back home. These children no longer seem to fit in with the real world, and she makes a place for them.

These children have found their doorways and been abandoned by them. Each and every single one has found a path to a new and different world. A world that resonates with their souls in the most intimate of ways. It is their home.

Eleanor doesn’t make many rules for these children. But she does have one: no quests. That rule is about to be broken. Jake is back, and she’s going to need the help of her friends if she wants to bring back the balance of the Moors.

This novella is one that I’ve been anxiously been waiting forever since it was announced. No, that’s not quite true. I’ve been looking forward to it since the moment I read the last page of In An Absent Dream. And thus, I couldn’t have been more excited to get my hands on this book.

Writing

Come Tumbling Down by Seanan McGuire
Come Tumbling Down by Seanan McGuire

Seanan McGuire has always had a way with words and worlds. And that trend continues in Come Tumbling Down. The introduction to this novella was a dramatic one – the sort that grabs your attention right from the start and makes you eager to keep on turning the pages.

We’ve seen the Moors once before (and been told about them another time on top of that), but it is clear that there is still so much to learn about this world. This is a dark and treacherous world. But it also a world full of rules, and that means there’s a balance to be found here.

Seeing this world again, through different eyes, was fascinating. Just when you think you know everything there is to learn about one of McGuire’s worlds, she proves us wrong. It’s easy to see why Jack felt so at home in this world.

Development

This was a fast-paced tale, with our Wayward Children being forced from one series of events to the next. Given the danger that they’re facing, that’s probably not terribly surprising. Thankfully, this crew has gotten fairly used to traveling through strange and disturbing worlds, so this isn’t as intimidating as it should or could be.

The risks were high in this novella – as we’ve learned the hard way that Seanan McGuire isn’t afraid to kill off her characters. Even in a world like the Moors, where death doesn’t have the same permanency, we were given reason to fear.

That was a sharp edge that made this tale all the more thrilling, especially given what they were up against. And what they hoped to accomplish. Then there’s the reason why this quest began in the first place; it’s a personal touch. One with bone-chilling implications. In short, it was exactly what I was hoping for Jack and Jill’s story.

Conclusion

Come Tumbling Down was a thrilling and fascinating read. I’m not lying when I say that I couldn’t read this book fast enough. Though I do wish that I could read it again for the first time all over again. I find myself feeling that way quite a lot with this series, come to think of it.

This was a dark and disturbing tale, but one that fit so perfectly with this world and the characters we’ve come to love. It was well worth the read and has left me excited to see what the next set of adventures will contain.

 

 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: