Reviews

Review- Daredevil #2 (Marvel Comics)

Daredevil #2
Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Daredevil #2

Writer: Chip Zdarsky
Artist: Marco Checchetto
Colorist: Sunny Gho
Letterer: VC’s Clayton Cowles
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release: February 27, 2019

Daredevil is wanted for murder, but could Matt Murdock really make that big of a mistake? Is Daredevil a killer or is somebody setting him up to take the fall?

 

“Know Fear Part 2” Daredevil #2

 

Detective Cole North just transferred to Hell’s Kitchen from Chicago. A hardened cop with a chip on his shoulder for anyone that breaks the law. Detective North wants Daredevil behind bars. Not only because Mayor Fisk has it out for costumed heroes, but now Daredevil is wanted for murder! Matt Murdock is a little rusty coming back from his injuries/near death experience. Maybe he came back too early? After thwarting a robbery it seems one of the crooks has died from his injuries sustained from Daredevil.  Matt is normally so in tuned with his hyper-senses that he knows how much violence to inflict to cause injury but not death. Did not being 100% make DD make a mistake? Has the guardian devil fallen in love with violence? Or is someone setting him up in Daredevil #2?

Writing

Daredevil (2019) #2 Cover Artist: Julian Tedesco
Daredevil (2019) #2 Cover Artist: Julian Tedesco

Chip Zdarsky continues to impress with Daredevil #2. This is an excellent almost “classic Daredevil” type story. Matt is down on his luck once again. He is going to have to use all of his skills as Daredevil and as Lawyer Matt Murdock to figure out what exactly happened. Zdarsky also does some nice tricks and turns with the story to keep the reader on their toes. It is not like Daredevil has never been in a similar situation like this before. So Zdarsky does some interesting things in Daredevil #2 to keep the story fresh.

The new character Detective Cole North has been set up to be a very interesting character inserted into DD’s life. We did not learn much about him in the first issue but in Daredevil #2 we get to know him a lot more. I won’t spoil what goes on, but Detective North does narrate part of the issue so we get to get in his head.

It is hard to judge the story only after the second issue as it is going to be determined how Zdarsky sticks the landing. Did Daredevil really accidentally kill somebody? Is somebody setting him up; then who or why? The story is good so far but Zdarsky has me very invested to see how everything turns out.

Art

My praise for Marco Checchetto’s art continues from my review of Daredevil #1. Checchetto draws DD’s costume almost too perfectly! He makes it a little baggy and not as skin tight that gives it a nice flair. He makes it look like clothing but he also doesn’t take away the beautifully simplistic design of the costume either. The only thing that needs a little work is in some of the facial expressions. There is one scene where I think a lady is supposed to be afraid of Daredevil after saving her. There is a close up of her face and I am not exactly sure what expression she has? It is not shock or fear, it’s just kind of her with her mouth open. The only reason I know what she is supposed to be feeling is from the narration.

Checchetto does continue to do some wonderfully dynamic work throughout Daredevil #2. The characters look fantastic doing physical actions throughout the issue. Whether it is Daredevil fighting or people just walking Checchetto adds the fluidity to the scenes. Gho’s coloring work continues to add a nice dynamic to the book for me as well. It has this nice almost glossier texture, that I normally don’t like but it seems to work well with Checchetto’s art.

Conclusion

Zdarsky Daredevil story is almost a back to roots type tale. It also has a nice little mystery to it as well. It adds in Daredevil the superhero and Daredevil the lawyer combination quite well. Checchetto’s art is very well done and I adore how he draws DD’s costume with some great texture and lines while also keeping it simple. I am supremely interested to see how Zdarsky finishes up this first storyline and what he does from here. It seems like well-trodden ground and a common story trope for Daredevil. But, like I usually say if it is done well, it is hard to complain about and for now, the creative team is doing it very well in Daredevil #2.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: