Reviews

Review – Daredevil #20 (Marvel Comics)

Daredevil #20
Overall
9.2/10
9.2/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Overall - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Daredevil #20

Writer: Chip Zdarsky
Artist: Marco Checchetto
Colorist: Mattia Iacono
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: June 10, 2020

Daredevil fights to save Hell’s Kitchen from destruction and he might get an assist from a certain Kingpin of crime.

 

“Fight Song” Daredevil #20

Matt Murdock dons his devil-horned mask once again to protect his city in Daredevil #20. It has been a long wait since the last issue of Daredevil. I have been pretty excited to see the kind of conclusion to this current “mini-arc” in this larger story that Chip Zdarsky has been weaving. Plus, I mean, I am never going to get tired of Marco Checchetto drawing Daredevil. Basically, where we left off last issue is, Hell’s Kitchen is cut off from everything. Cops ordered not to go in, the Stromwyns want to tear it down. They sent in some supervillains as well.

Daredevil #20 (Marvel Comics) Zombies variant cover by Will Sliney
Daredevil #20 (Marvel Comics) Zombies variant cover by Will Sliney

As Bullseye, Rhino, Stilt-Man and some other random guy start terrorizing the City, Matt Murdock realizes that his City needs its Devil in red armor. Wilson Fisk, the Kingpin and Mayor of NYC, also sees his City being destroyed. The Stromwyns have also cut down the Tyrant to nothing. Is it time for Kingpin to step up as well? Hell’s Kitchen is a war zone and people must come together to save it in Daredevil #20.

Writing

Chip Zdarsky has certainly been building an epic Daredevil story for 20 issues. Daredevil #20 is not the end of his story, but we can start to see the light at the end of the tunnel. It is certainly nothing new to a Daredevil story. Matt Murdock being torn down physically/mentally and having to pull himself back up from the depths of despair—it is kind of his thing. But Zdarsky has done some interesting things with it to keep the story fresh.

Daredevil #20 is more of an action issue; it wraps up the “Lift Your Fists and Fight” storyline and leads into another one by the end. Zdarsky has done a good job of breaking up his larger story into these smaller type chapters. It helps to keep them together and break up the story a bit.

As much as I am enjoying this ongoing story, I wouldn’t mind a one-shot here or there with Daredevil doing something different. But that is kind of hard with the story being told.

Zdarsky has some fantastic dialogue in Daredevil #20 as he battles his way through Hell’s Kitchen. It is nice to see Matt talk himself up for what he needs to do. I will be interested to see where Zdarsky takes the story from here.

Art

Daredevil #20 seems like a showcase for Marco Checchetto‘s art. I love his work and he gets to shine in this issue! Some just splendid work throughout Daredevil #20. He captures the action and drama so well. His characters are fluid and detailed. There is tons of “movement” and just an energy that comes off the pages. The whole issue is basically a battle across Hell’s Kitchen and Chechetto puts you right in the middle of it.

I talked about in my review of Hawkeye: Freefall #5 that Kingpin looked very small, slim, and normal. Well, Checchetto pulls a 180 on that and gives us the giant, hulking Kingpin we all know and love. I mean, he is massive in this issue, and it is perfect for his character. Kingpin looked fantastic, but I had no clue that this one character that kept showing up was Foggy Nelson until somebody finally said his name. Foggy needs some kind of visual distinctive look.

There is really nothing to complain about the art in Daredevil #20. Well, except Foggy and one action scene that felt like it needed another sequence to fully explain what happened. Okay, and whoever decided to change Bullseye’s costume needs a talking-to. This new one is terrible. I mean, Checchetto’s art is good, but that costume doesn’t work. But, man, the art is just beautiful.

Checchetto’s more “realistic” style fits this story perfectly. It is just gripping, visually, and sucks you in. The coloring work by Mattia Iacono is also incredibly well done. It somehow almost has a textured look to it that is fantastic. Daredevil #20 is just a visual pleasure for the eyes.

Conclusion

Daredevil #20 is an exciting, action-packed issue that also changes the story into a new direction by the end. We do maybe start to see where Zdarsky may be ending the story, by the end of this issue. But Daredevil #20 stands out as an exhibit of Marco Checchetto’s wonderful artwork. The pages of this issue are chock-full of splendid visuals. If you are in dire need of Daredevil doing superhero stuff then Daredevil #20 is your medicine.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • 160x600
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
%d bloggers like this: