Reviews

Review – Death to the Army of Darkness #4 (Dynamite Entertainment)

Overall
7.5/10
7.5/10
  • Writing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Death to the Army of Darkness #4

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Jacob Edgar
Colorist: Kike J. Diaz
Letterer: Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou
Maturity Rating: Teen +
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: August 19, 2020

Ash finds himself in Ancient Egypt in the Temple of the Deadites! At least he has a crew made up of his “essence” to help him fight. Everything is just going to work out fine and dandy for or hero!

 

Stuck in the Temple of the Deadites in Death to the Army of Darkness #4

Ancient Egypt. Deadites all around. Ash’s essence split into a woman (Ashley), a dog, a cowardly skeleton, a chainsaw, and an imp. Now low on gas, Ash, Ashley, and his trusty now-animated chainsaw are trapped in the temple of the Deadites with only a skeleton, a talking dog, and an Ash imp to rescue them. Things are just looking fine and dandy for our hero in Death to the Army of Darkness #4.

Death to the Army of Darkness #4 (Dynamite Entertainment) cover C by Mirka Andolfo
Death to the Army of Darkness #4 (Dynamite Entertainment) cover C by Mirka Andolfo

The main question arises: why was Ash brought here in the first place? The Deadites have had it out for him for a long time; what is their plan? Well, we are going to find out in Death to the Army of Darkness #4, and we find out if Ash truly has any friends at all.

Writing

Ryan Parrott is doing a pretty swell job of catching the essence of Army of Darkness/Evil Dead in this series. It is funny, exciting, with some light horror thrown in. Parrott leans heavily on the more “wacky”, irrelevant side of the franchise with a talking dog, skeleton, and whatnot. Those looking for the more horror/gore part of the franchise won’t find it here.

What Parrott always does well (character development) shines in Death to the Army of Darkness #4. He starts to dig heavily into the characters Ash’s essence has been split into. I can’t go into spoilers, but we get a look into their psyches and what is driving them, and it makes the issue and series a lot more interesting.

Death to the Army of Darkness #4 is also the second to last issue. It leaves us on a very exciting cliff hanger, but I also do not see how all this will be wrapped up in one more issue. There are a lot of things still happening and some pieces to put together, so I will be interested to see how Parrott brings everything together and gets Ash out of the pickle we find him in at the end of Death to the Army of Darkness #4.

Art

Jacob Edgar has done a solid job with the art throughout this series. His more animated cartooning style fits that more “zany”, wacky tone of Death to the Army of Darkness. Again, if this was more horror/gore themed I don’t think his style would fit, so the art really helps the theme and style of storytelling the series goes for.

I love his work on all the Deadite skeletons in Death to the Army of Darkness #4; it has a very Jason and the Argonauts type feel to it. The art does feel a little “stiff” at times during more action-oriented scenes, but I love his animated faces and comedic timing on some bits.

Kike J. Diaz also does some solid coloring work throughout the series; again, his lighter coloring work brings out that more fun comedy vibe to the series. It also fits perfectly with Jacob Edgar’s art style, making a good combination to fit the storytelling going on in the series.

Conclusion

Death to the Army of Darkness #4 is another solid entry into the series. If you have been reading and liking the other issues, then no doubt you will enjoy this one as well. This series, as a whole, is a bit hard for me to judge and score. There is nothing technically wrong with it. It is a fun and enjoyable read, but I am also not clamoring to read it when it comes out, either. I wouldn’t exclaim that anybody who liked the franchise would have to read it, either. So, I guess that is why I scored it what I did. The writing and art are all good, but at the end of the day, it’s a “fine” comic book. It is an enjoyable read, but also not something I can’t wait to get my hands on when it is released.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250

WOTN on Instagram

  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

YouTube

%d bloggers like this: