Reviews

Review – Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 (Marvel Comics)

Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 (Marvel Comics) cover (detail) by Dan Mora
Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 (Marvel Comics) cover (detail) by Dan Mora
  • Writing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Art - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • Overall - 7.8/10
    7.8/10

Falcon & Winter Soldier #5

Writer: Derek Landy
Artist: Federico Vicentini
Colorist: Matt Milla
Letterer: Joe Caramagna
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: November 25, 2020

Falcon and Bucky face off against The Natural once again, as Veronica and Zemo vie to be the supreme leader of Hydra.

 

Overall
7.8/10
7.8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Final Fight” Falcon & Winter Soldier #5

It all comes to an end in Falcon & Winter Soldier #5. The five-issue mini-series finale hits hard and fast, so watch out. As Sam Wilson and Bucky Barnes battle The Natural inside the small-town diner, outside, Veronica vies to be the supreme leader of Hydra as she goes toe to toe with Baron Zemo. Can Sam and Bucky defeat the most gifted child assassin in the Marvel Universe or will the young gun put the final nail in the old-timers? Will Veronica take leadership of Hydra and lead the villainous group in a bold new direction? Only one way to find out!

Writing

Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 (Marvel Comics) cover by Dan Mora
Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 (Marvel Comics) cover by Dan Mora

Derek Landy has brought us on a raucous ride throughout these last five issues. It has been a lot of fun, as Landy has been hot with the quips and barbs throughout the series. Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 continues that odd sense of humor as the story wraps up.

I have talked about it in previous reviews, but the humor in the book has been a hindrance and advantage of the book at times. I say a hindrance because at times it is hard to take the book and plot seriously when every character has a quip or something “smart” to say. It takes some steam off of what is happening on the pages when that happens all the time. But an advantage because it did make the book a fun read and also gave the series a personality. I think Landy just needs to find the right measurement to add. Not enough, it is too bland; too much, it’s overwhelming.

In a more general sense of the series overall, I enjoyed Landy’s plot. We get solid new characters in Veronica and The Natural. I was hoping for some connection between The Natural and RJ from the previous vastly-underrated Winter Soldier mini-series. But I could see either one of them popping up in other parts of the Marvel Universe.

Though at times it was a bit too jokey, I think Landy did a good job of getting into the heads of the two former Captain Americas—two characters that share a lot in common, yet are wildly different. Landy brings them together in a great way at the end of Falcon & Winter Soldier #5 and it is a heartwarming ending of sorts. Plus, I mean, Bucky’s cat shows up again, so I am not going to complain about that. 

Art

No change in the art team for the final issue of the mini-series in Falcon & Winter Soldier #5. Federico Vicentini and Matt Milla continue to deliver solid visuals in this issue. Vincentini continues to deliver great close-quarters fight scenes. Like Daredevil hallway type fights. Vincentini does a superb job of showcasing these close-quarters fights. They are extremely well done and exciting. I would like to see him expand the visuals out a little more at times (that skydiving fight in issue #4 was fantastic), but overall, great depiction of action and movement throughout.

Vicentini also continues great character design throughout the series. He makes the Falcon’s costume tolerable and that’s not nothing. Matt Milla continues to paint the series in some delightful bright colorations. The colors do help increase that more “happy-go-lucky” feel or tone of the series.

No big changes or anything in Falcon & Winter Soldier #5. The art overall for the mini-series has been solid and that continues. Maybe a few small things here or there, but overall great artwork throughout the past five issues.

Conclusion

We have come to an end to the series with Falcon & Winter Soldier #5. Overall the series was a fun little romp. It has held me over a bit while waiting on the Falcon and the Winter Soldier series on Disney+. I have had a few minor complaints but I think overall it is a solid, fun series and a good little story. I really enjoyed the ending to the issue/series; it had a nice, more sentimental aspect to it that ended everything on a good note.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • 160x600
%d bloggers like this: