Reviews

Review – Go Go Power Rangers #18 (BOOM! Studios)

Go Go Power Rangers #18 (BOOM Studios) preorder variant cover (detail) by Audrey Mok
Go Go Power Rangers #18
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Eleonora Carlini w/ ink assist by Simona Di Gianfelice
Colorist: Raúl Angulo
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Release Date: March 13, 2019

Alpha-1 has been secretly helping the Power Rangers, but what secrets does he hold from the Rangers?

 

“True Lies” Go Go Power Rangers #18

Alpha-1 made his presence known to the Power Rangers in the previous issue and now his past is revealed in Go Go Power Rangers #18. What secrets does Alpha-1 hold and why hasn’t Zordon shared his story with the Rangers or Alpha-5? It is also a little bit creepy that he was secretly spying on the Rangers. Sure, he helped them out with stuff, but still! While Alpha-1’s past is revealed, Rita learns about the Dragon Coin and its secrets from her mother. Things go well until her mother learns what her daughter has become!

Writing

Go Go Power Rangers #18 (BOOM Studios) main cover by Marcus To and Miguel Mercado
Main cover by Marcus To and Miguel Mercado

Go Go Power Rangers #18 is a solid mid-story issue. There is quite a bit going on that sets up some big things going forward. I am not totally into the whole Alpha-1 story for right now. It is okay, but it doesn’t have my full attention. I do like that Ryan Parrott is slowly building up the whole Green Ranger storyline. We knew it was only a matter of time before that entered the fray. I am not the biggest Green Ranger fan and I am really enjoying the dynamic Parrott has built between the current Rangers. I do trust Parrott that he will work in the Green Ranger stuff well; it is just that I have been enjoying this series so much without that inclusion. But the slow tease of adding in the Green Ranger has worked well.

Parrott does things like this so well. He has the main story going on with Alpha-1 while still teasing other storylines coming up. Whether it is the Dragon Coin, Trini and Jason dating, the Rangers’ family lives, his story management is really something to marvel at!

The thing that I have recently been enjoying about Go Go Power Rangers and Parrott’s writing is the meetings with the guidance counselor scenes. In the previous issue, Zack met with her and it was a great scene to get to know his character better. In Go Go Power Rangers #18 Trini opens up to her, and again, it’s another great character development scene. Parrott uses those short scenes tremendously well, not only in continuing current story plots but letting us get to know the characters a whole lot better. I am hoping each Ranger gets to open up like that in the coming issues.

Art

Eleonora Carlini continues to deliver some splendid artwork in Go Go Power Rangers #18. Her more cartoonish, animated, almost “manga-ish” style works delightfully well for this series. It captures the mood and tone of the series exquisitely well. Her exaggerated facial expressions work wonderfully well in helping to get different emotions from characters and getting story points across. If a character is scared, embarrassed or whatever Carlini does a fantastic job of showing that expression on the pages. She also makes Alpha-1 look mega creepy; that face is nightmare fuel!

I love the character design for younger Zordon. I am not exactly sure who to give the credit for the design. But it looks great, from the odd futuristic clothing to his chiseled jawline. I love Carlini’s action sequences as well. She always does some interesting panel angles and layouts that look fantastic! 

Raúl Angulo’s colors also continue to work phenomenally well in Go Go Power Rangers #18. He gets to work with some brighter whites and yellows in this issue and he really makes them shine off the page. He adds this nice glowing effect to Rita’s mom’s ghost/spirit. It looks great and adds a nice supernatural flair to her.

Conclusion

Go Go Power Rangers #18 is another solid entry into the series. While not my absolute favorite issue, it still does a lot of interesting things with the characters and sets up a ton of stuff going forward. Parrott continues to develop these character extremely well and has morphed them into something that the original television show could never have done. The art is top notch and fits the series perfectly. There are always some beautiful pages to stop and stare at with each issue.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

Check out our YouTube Channel