Reviews

Review – Go Go Power Rangers #19 (BOOM! Studios)

Go Go Power Rangers #19 (BOOM Studios) preorder variant cover(detail) by Audrey Mok
Go Go Power Rangers #19
Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Eleonora Carlini w/ Ink Assist by Simona Di Gianfelice
Colorist: Raúl Angulo
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Release Date: April 10, 2019

Will Rita find the secrets of the Green Power Coin from her mother, can Trini and Jason continue to keep their relationship secret, and what is going on with Alpha-1? Find out in Go Go Power Rangers #19!

 

 

 

It’s a New Wave in Go Go Power Rangers #19

The saga continues in Go Go Power Rangers #19. We continue to learn more about Rita’s past with her mother, but why does Rita hate her so much? She seems so nice. Also, what does Rita’s mother know about the Green Power Coin? Meanwhile, back on Earth, the Rangers deal with their own conundrums. Jason and Trini continue to try to keep their relationship under wraps, but Kimberly is starting to notice their strange behavior. Alpha-1 has some new upgrades and ideas for the Power Rangers that Zach and Billy are totally digging. Alpha-1 seems to be a great new ally, but can he be trusted?

Writing

Go Go Power Rangers #19 (BOOM! Studios) main cover by Marcus To and Miguel Mercado
Go Go Power Rangers #19 (BOOM! Studios) main cover by Marcus To and Miguel Mercado

Ryan Parrott once again continues to be a tremendous story juggler in Go Go Power Rangers #19. Again, as with the previous issues, we get another Ranger and guidance counselor meeting. I have been loving these scenes as we get more into each individual Ranger’s head just a little bit more. This time it is Jason’s turn to open up.

Parrott also does a phenomenal job of sneaking in great one-page scenes that help develop characters and “B & C” plots. One of those is Kimberly’s parents’ recent divorce issues. We got a scene with her dad and now in this issue, we get a short scene with her mom that works phenomenally well not only to get into Kimberly’s life but to make her mom more of a character as well.

I also love how Parrott slowly pushes different plots forward. He is still driving the Green Power Coin plot and not rushing it. He is letting that slowly develop while we still have this whole mystery with Alpha-1 developing. All that is going on while the Rangers are still dealing with normal family stuff. Again, Parrott just does a superb job of juggling all these story plots and still making Go Go Power Rangers a series more about the everyday lives of the Rangers as “teenagers with attitudes”.

Art

Eleonora Carlini continues to shine in Go Go Power Rangers #19. Her cartooning style fits perfectly with this series and its tone. It has that nice in-between feel of being realistic and yet very animated at the same time. It allows the characters to feel real but lets them get away with some over-exaggerated facial expressions that work well within the series. Raúl Angulo continues to also do superb coloring work. The whole art team works great together.

One scene did look a little strange with the coloring. It is a scene with Goldar, Squat, and Baboo. Everything has a very dark coloration except for Squat, who is very bright blue and looks very out of place. I know he naturally has a bright blue coloration but he is like “mega” brighter than anything else on that page.

The action scenes are well paced and laid out throughout the issue. I love Carlini’s super angled panel work in the action sequences; she makes them feel very fast and hard-hitting. The different monsters and creatures that tend to pop up in Power Rangers series continue to look great. That same cartooning/animated style works superbly well for all the different monsters.

Conclusion

Go Go Power Rangers continues to be consistently good from month to month. Each issue is just a joy to read. I continue to love this look into the Power Rangers’ more everyday lives. The whole creative team works wonderfully well together. Go Go Power Rangers #19 continues to push many different plots forward and has me very excited to see what comes next!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: