Reviews

Review – Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2 (IDW Publishing)

  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.7/10
    7.7/10

Summary

Writer: Marieke Nijkamp
Artist: Yasmin Flores Montanez
Colorist: Rebecca Nalty
Letterer: Danny Djeljosevic
Maturity Rating: Everyone
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: November 4, 2020

Blake’s boring summer just got a lot more exciting and dangerous when gaming rival Lily invited her to explore Fever Swamp. The swamps of Florida are dangerous enough, even without the werewolves!

Overall
7.7/10
7.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

Bad Moon in Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2

If the swamps of Florida or Florida, in general, wasn’t wild and dangerous enough, here comes the werewolves in Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2. Blake’s boring summer at her aunt’s house just got a lot more exciting and dangerous. When her video-gaming rival, Lily, invited her to explore Fever Swamp, she thought she might impress and make a friend out of Lily. Now the two rivals have to mix and match all their gaming wits to survive. The girls are about to find out that real life is much more dangerous than any video game they have ever experienced.

Writing

Goosebumps: Secret of the Swamp #2 (IDW Publishing) cover by Yasmin Flores Montanez
Goosebumps: Secret of the Swamp #2 (IDW Publishing) cover by Yasmin Flores Montanez

After the first issue, I have been interested to see what Marieke Nijkamp delivers in Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2. She left us with a nice cliffhanger and we get a little more into the story with this second issue. The issue revolves around Lily and Blake running from werewolves, mainly. It is a little more action-oriented issue. The pacing did feel a little weird. This series is five issues, which is longer than the other series.

The middle part of the issue did feel weird, still. I cannot get too heavily into it without spoiling things. But the transition from chase to the other scene felt odd.

Marieke Nijkamp does do some good character work with Blake and Lily. It is not too hard-hitting and stays kid-friendly, but she throws some nice twists and turns in there to keep the reader on their toes. It does seem that the story goes by pretty quickly and that we do not really get that much “story” at all.

Besides one pretty major revelation, we are pretty much where we left off after the first issue. I feel myself wondering how this is going to fill out three more issues, and if this issue kept my interest enough to continue on with the rest of the series.

Art

Yasmin Flores Montanez delivers some delightful werewolves in Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2. As we all know, I am very picky about my werewolves. She goes with a nice mixture of the classic “wolfman” design mixed with a more wolf-like appearance. They are bi-pedal, which is obviously the best kind of werewolf design.

Yasmin Flores Montanez continues to have a nice detailed design to the world. I love the look of the swamp; it is dark, dreary, and she makes it a “spooky” setting for the issue.

The characters do still feel a little flat, and for all the motion and chasing going on in the issue, I would have liked to feel a little more “intensity” or “movement” from the artwork.

Rebecca Nalty does some solid coloring work on the pages. She does a great job of matching Montanez’s style and fitting the theme and tone of the series. 

Conclusion

Goosebumps: Secrets of the Swamp #2 was a solid entry into the series but I am not sure how much it is holding my attention. The pacing felt a little weird. I am not sure how it is going to hold up for three more issues. The art is solid but I would like a little more energy from the visuals. But I still enjoy a lot of things about the series. The issue did have a nice eerie, spooky feel to it. The werewolf designs are good, and for younger readers, I can see this being a good horror medium for them.

One thing is, how do you not put this out the week before Halloween? That is prime time for a series like this. It is just odd that IDW released this the week after Halloween. I know a lot goes into when a book can be put out, but that seems like a miscalculation from somewhere.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • 160x600
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
%d bloggers like this: