Reviews

Review – Gotham City Monsters #1 (DC Comics)

Gotham City Monsters #1
Overall
8.2/10
8.2/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Steve Orlando
Artist: Amancay Nahuelpan
Colorist: Trish Mulvihill
Letterer: Tom Napolitano
Maturity Rating: Teen +
Publisher: DC Comics
Release Date: September 11, 2019

As the Multi-verse is in shambles in the DC Universe, Frankenstein decides to take one last shot at Melmoth, but he is going to need a crew of monsters to get the job done.

 

It’s a Monster Mash in Gotham City Monsters #1

Strange things are afoot in Gotham City as “I, Vampire” Andrew Bennett and former Agent of S.H.A.D.E. Frankenstein find themselves in the crime-ridden city on similar missions. The DC Universe’s Multi-verse is in grave danger and Frankenstein decides it is one last time to go after Melmoth. But something bigger is at play and he is going need a whole crew of monstrosities to get the job done in Gotham City Monsters #1

Writing

Gotham City Monsters #1 (DC Comics) main cover by Philip Tan
Gotham City Monsters #1 (DC Comics) main cover by Philip Tan

So, I am completely unfamiliar with DC’s version of Frankenstein. He seems like a character right up my alley so it is very strange I have never read much on him. I actually do not know much about any of the characters featured in Gotham City Monsters #1 (except Killer Croc). There also seems to be an underlying back issue story to be wrapped up as well. So, basically coming into the story and characters cold turkey, and it works fantastically well.

Okay, so, at the beginning of the issue I wasn’t completely sold. The tone was a little melodramatic and felt a bit off. That was until Frankenstein showed up. I don’t know if this is how the character is always written, but Steve Orlando should write him all the time! The dialogue is just perfect. It is a bit goofy and over the top, yet serious and striking all at the same time. I really couldn’t get enough of the character.

The story is pretty solid as well. Orlando starts off the six-issue mini-series just about as good as you can. Even coming in with no prior knowledge it was easy to slip into what was going on. Orlando sets the pieces and players up while also making this issue exciting and fun to read all at the same time. He kept my interest throughout and has me excited to see where he takes this.

Art

I am not at all familiar with Amancay Nahuelpan‘s art. Gotham City Monsters #1 is my first exposure to it. All around, it is solid. Maybe some slight issues with body placement or odd visual angles here and there, but all-around good work. I really enjoyed Nahuelpan’s character designs in the issue. Again, Frankenstein, when I look at him I smack myself “like how have you not read any of this character?” From the wonderful-looking red and yellow embroidered vest that gives a delightful 18th-century feel to the character, to his gun that has freaking bat wings on the handle! It is just a fantastic design that sparks the imagination and Nahuelpan catches it in tremendous detail.

There are some delightfully gruesome panels as well that intensify the horror aspects of the book tremendously well. They are quite shocking panels when you get to them, as the reader is not really expecting it at all. It has a great set-up and adds a nice little shock value. It is not too graphic or violent, but it is just ghastly enough to intensify the series.

Trish Mulvihill‘s colors catch the tone of the series brilliantly well. Gotham City Monsters #1 is painted in a lot of dark, drab colors that give that nice glum, gloomy feeling to the issue. There is also a nice brightness to everything as well, that helps balance out the series.

Conclusion

Gotham City Monsters #1 was a great issue to get me into the “fall/Halloween” spirit even though it is early September and 96 degrees outside. Orlando does an exceptional job of writing Frankenstein and I am excited to see a lot more of that character. Orlando also makes it easy to jump into this six-issue mini-series with no prior knowledge and enjoy yourself and get invested in the story. The art is solid as well; it sets a nice tone and feel for the story and there are some good visuals throughout the issue.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Leave a Reply

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: