Books

Review – Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology

Harry Potter A Journey Through Potions and Herbology cropped for featured image
Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology
Overall
8.3/10
8.3/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 8/10
    8/10
  • Overall - 8.25/10
    8.3/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Book Format: ebook
Pages: 75 Pages
Book Release: June 27th, 2019
Book Description:
The history of magic is as long as time and as wide as the world. In every culture, in every age, in every place and, probably, in every heart, there is magic.

This non-fiction short-form eBook features content which is adapted from the audiobook Harry Potter: A History of Magic – inspired by the British Library exhibition of the same name.

Potions have been made for thousands of years – associated with bubbling pots and mysterious ingredients, they have been brewed to make medicines, drugs and poisons. Harry Potter became much better at Potions with a little help from the Half-Blood Prince. Plants have also been important components of medicines as much as myth-making and magic. A source of danger as well as a means of overcoming obstacles, Herbology was a subject which had a major bearing on Harry’s key decisions and mistakes in the wizarding world.

This eBook short examines the colourful characters and curious incidents of the real history of magic, and how they relate to the Hogwarts lesson subjects of Potions and Herbology from the Harry Potter stories.

 

Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology

Just to be clear; Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology was not written by J.K. Rowling. It’s inspired by the influences on her work. And it was published by Pottermore, but that is about the limit to it.

This is the second ebook to come out this summer from Pottermore. It’s one of four in the series that’ll be exploring the real life influences for J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter. A lot of what is studied here could have been found in the Harry Potter museum exhibit. That was one of the inspirations for this series, actually.

This ebook is perfect for any fan out there that has been curious about the inspirations that helped create the world of Harry Potter. Or even if you haven’t been curious, but are open to learning more about the real lore pulled into it.

Writing

JK Rowling - Harry Potter A Journey Through Potions and Herbology (June 2019)

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I first started reading this series. But Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology ended up being a fascinating read. Despite all of the facts crammed into it, it never really felt dry or dull.

Every ebook in this series has a specific focus. In this instance, it’s probably pretty obvious. It’s focusing on Potions and Herbology. Or at least, the influences and real life examples that J.K. Rowling found.

This ebook also gives some details about J.K. Rowling’s writing process, including a few images that J.K. Rowling herself drew, back in the earlier stages. It was fascinating to see all of these details. The book also added context to the facts being handed to us. It was interesting to see what the authors chose to lump in with potions or herbology. I wasn’t expecting some of the decisions they made. But I also can’t argue with the logic they used. And I’m certainly not complaining.

It was fun reading all of the real life examples of potions and herbology here. I knew that J.K. Rowling pulled in real things or based her works off of lore. But I don’t think I ever realized the full extent of it. Not until now, at least.

Development

For a relatively short ebook, Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology was very well organized. The book itself was split into two main sections; potions and herbology. But it also split itself within those categories. I love the way they did this, because it would make for easy referencing. Perfect for if we’re ever in, say, a debate and want to point something out. Or if we wanted to do further research on our own.

There obviously wasn’t much of a story to this one. It was more of a flowing series of facts. But the creative team did do a good job connecting all of the dots. And they included brief excerpts from the series, to tie it all together. The end result was a cohesive piece of work. And a fascinating one at that.

Conclusion

Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology was an interesting read. And it’ll make a great starting point for anybody wanting to dig into the lore that helped form this amazing series. That being said, if you’re looking for another Harry Potter book, this is not it. But if you go into this expecting what it is, you’ll be just fine.

For more Word of the Nerd book news, reviews, and reading lists, click here.


Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: