Reviews

Review – Hawkeye: Freefall #5 (Marvel Comics)

Hawkeye: Freefall #5 (Marvel Comics) cover (detail) by Kim Jacinto
Hawkeye: Freefall #5
Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Art - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
5 (1 vote)

Hawkeye: Freefall #5

Writer: Matthew Rosenberg
Artist: Otto Schmidt
Letterer: VC’s Joe Sabino
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: May 20, 2020

Clint Barton has been Hawkeye and Ronin, using his stolen time tech to appear as two different people. But with his fellow heroes closing in on him and the Hood continuing to thrive it is time for Clint Barton to start closing the books on his double life.

 

A Long Way Down in Hawkeye: Freefall #5

Oh boy oh boy a new Marvel Comic book to review! Today we are digging back into a brand new Marvel Comic in Hawkeye: Freefall #5. It has been a bit since we have gotten any new stuff from the bigger publishers so this is a step in the right direction hopefully. Plus this is a series I have been immensely enjoying. Sadly Hawkeye: Freefall will only be released digitally now. But it is better than not getting it at all.

Hawkeye: Freefall #5 (Marvel Comics) cover by Kim Jacinto
Hawkeye: Freefall #5 (Marvel Comics) Cover by Kim Jacinto

Luckily Hawkeye: Freefall #5 does have a recap page as the last issue did come out two months ago. The last issue I reviewed was issue #3 of the series. It was also announced that this will only be a 6-issue mini-series so sadly Hawkeye: Freefall #5 is the penultimate issue. So, we still have Clint waging war against the Hood as Hawkeye and Ronin using his handy dandy time jump machine. But people are catching on fast. He has a whole superhero team hunting down Ronin, Captain America, and Spider-Man is asking questions and now he has enlisted the help of a Skrull to help with his lie. Things are closing in on Clint Barton and now the madman Bullseye has entered the picture!

Writing

Matthew Rosenberg continues to do some fun things with the character of Clint Barton in this series. He still has that free-spirit, lackadaisical vibe; but also this serious notion of trying to good and help. It is a nice mixture for the character that Rosenberg catches well. I also love the “voice” of Clint Barton in this series. Rosenberg scripts his dialogue in a way that seems like he would speak.

Rosenberg also ramps up the tension in Hawkeye: Freefall #5, it is a bit of slower, methodical issue. There is this odd tension throughout the issue that continues to build until the wonderful/heartbreaking final page. I won’t spoil anything but that final page gets you excited for the next issue. Again Rosenberg does a fantastic job of building like nervous type energy through the issue. As the reader you can feel something bad is going to happen and when Rosenberg pulls the rug out from under Clint your heart sinks.

Art

No secret that I love Otto Schmidt‘s art and it continues to shine in Hawkeye: Freefall #5. I just love the way he draws characters. It is such a unique style; I would love to see him tackle everyone in the Marvel Universe. That being said Kingpin does show up in this issue and I do not love how Schmidt portrays him. He looks nothing like the hulking Wilson Fisk we all know. He is just a tall, skinny, bald guy, I mean he looks good, but it’s not the Kingpin (unless I missed the issue he went on weight watchers).

I am not sure if I just did not notice it previously or not but I like that Schmidt gives Hawkeye a type of “costume” in Hawkeye: Freefall #5. Granted it just looks like body armor with his purple symbol on the front and purple shoulder pads. But it looks good. I am not sure if it just looks good because of Otto Schmidt or not? But Hawkeye needs some sort of costume besides a t-shirt and I don’t think we are ever getting the classic look back.

Schmidt’s character acting and facial expressions area gain what makes him one of my favorites. He gets so much storytelling out of his cartooning that scenes can happen without the dialogue and you would know exactly what is happening.

Conclusion

Hawkeye: Freefall #5 is another great issue in this series. As I spoke about before I love the tension and tone it builds throughout the issue. You can feel and know something is going to go wrong and when it does it goes from bad to worse for Clint Barton. Even though it is only digital know I am glad the series is at least getting to get finished up and maybe we will get a nice print collection soon! Plus I mean hey new comics so can’t complain too much right now!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comic book

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Leave a Reply

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: