Reviews

Review – Home Sick Pilots #3 (Image Comics)

Home Sick Pilots #3 (Image Comics) cover A (detaiil) by Caspar Wijngaard
  • Writing - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • Art - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Overall - 8.3/10
    8.3/10

Home Sick PIlots #3

Writer: Dan Watters
Artist: Caspar Wijngaard
Letterer: Aditya Bidikar
Designer: Tom Muller
Maturity Rating: Mature
Publisher: Image Comics
Release Date: February 10, 2021

Ami has been taken over by the Old James House, traveling the world bringing its belongings and capturing its ghosts. Her friends and bandmates are still trying to find her, but maybe the house does not want her to be found.

Overall
8.3/10
8.3/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Life will not break your heart, it will crush it” Home Sick Pilots #3

The Home Sick Pilots may be officially broken up. I mean, when your drummer gets arrested and your lead singer has been possessed by a haunted house to gather its missing items and the ghosts attached to them, your punk rock jamming days are pretty much toast. In Home Sick Pilots #3 Buzz, the high school bass player for the Home Sick Pilots, is keeping it all together. That can be rough when one friend is missing and the other got arrested; oh, and you saw a haunted house murder a rival band! Buzz continues the search for Ami in Home Sick Pilots #3.

Home Sick Pilots #3 (Image Comics) cover C by Declan Shalvey
Home Sick Pilots #3 (Image Comics) cover C by Declan Shalvey

For Ami, she continues to do the Old James House’s spectral bidding: finding its lost items and bringing the ghosts attached to them back. But why? Ami’s venture into the supernatural gets even stranger in Home Sick Pilots #3.

Writing

Home Sick Pilots is a strange book to put down what, exactly, it is. Part coming-of-age high school story, part punk/band adventure, part mystery, part supernatural horror, and a bit of Scooby-Doo hijinks for kicks. Three issues in and I am not exactly sure what is going on with this series, but yet, I am still drawn to it and captured by it.

Look, I can’t tell you really what I liked about Home Sick Pilots #3. Just that amalgam of everything I said above just calls to me, plus the ’90s aesthetic. Dan Watters paints an interesting piece with his writing and storytelling. As we get deeper in with the characters, I find myself more drawn to each one of them and want to find out more. I think everything happening is interesting, wild, and fun. Plus, it is just paced well and keeps you engaged with the story

I love that the series also has this weird horror/mystery to it, as well. We get Ami being like a spectral ghostbuster as she retrieves these items for the house. Thinking, it does have a bit of a Ghostbusters type vibe going on. The creatures/ghosts are actually pretty scary and horrific, but it also has this goofy/laid-back vibe as Ami goes along capturing them. 

Home Sick Pilots #3 also throws in—and I am not sure if this is the correct word, but—this “super-hero” element into the mix as well. Or at least that is the kind of feeling I got from the end of the issue. Obviously, it is hard to explain without spoiling it. But there is that hero type vibe I felt at the end.

Art

Great ghost/creature design continues in Home Sick Pilots #3. Caspar Wijngaard delivers some wonderfully vivid, odd-looking monsters in the issue. Just the whole vibe he sends off for this series is great. You get that haunting feel, yet it is kind of fun and lighthearted too.

I think, once again, the colors are the standout in Home Sick Pilots #3. I have talked about it in my previous two reviews but I adore the coloring work in this series. The pinks and blues coupled with the bright neon white all work strikingly well together. 

Caspar Wijngaard also has great character work and just overall superb character design. Everyone you see is an individual and recognizable in their own right. Also, delightful clothing and looks to everyone. He captures the characters’ moods and sensibilities through his images.

Conclusion

Home Sick Pilots is a weird adventure and I am all aboard for it. It is heartfelt and emotional, yet fun and goofy at the same time. It is scary and morose, yet still fun and full of mystery. A mixture of a bunch of different things that, when I say out loud, totally shouldn’t work together. But I find myself excited for each issue now. I want to know more about what happened in Ami’s past, I want to know exactly what is happening to the Old James House. I want the Home Sick Pilots to get back together. Home Sick Pilots #3 adds some intriguing plot points to the story, and who knows where it goes from here?


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • 160x600
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
%d bloggers like this: