Reviews

Review – Infinity Wars: Prime #1 (Marvel Comics)

Infinity Wars: Prime #1 (Marvel Comics) variant cover A (detail) by George Perez
Infinity Wars: Prime #1 (Marvel Comics) variant cover A (detail) by George Perez
Infinity Wars: Prime #1
Overall
7.5/10
7.5/10
  • Writing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Gerry Duggan
Artist: Mike Deadato Jr.
Colorist: Frank Martin
Letterer: VC’s Cory Petit
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release: July 25, 2018

With the Infinity Stones reappearing in the Marvel Universe, things are not looking good, and a shocking death starts off Infinity Wars!

The Battle Begins in Infinity Wars: Prime #1

The big event in the Marvel Universe starts with Infinity Wars: Prime #1! The Sorcerer Supreme, Doctor Strange, has called the Infinity Watch (individuals who have watch over one stone) to come together as the Infinity Stones are causing chaos across the Marvel Universe. With the Stones coming back, creatures across the galaxy come to attempt to gather their power. One being wants this power more than others, and will stop at no ends to obtain it!

Writing

Infinity Wars: Prime #1 (Marvel Comics) cover by Mike Deodato
Cover by Mike Deodato

Gerry Duggan has been building up to this event for quite some time with mini-series like Infinity Countdown. Now, I am not huge into the whole Marvel Cosmic stuff and I am really just not big on events as a whole. I like my “smaller” Marvel stories with my street-level heroes, mostly. I heard rumblings about a big death in this issue (you can google it and spoil it if you want) and how game-changing this event was going to be (aren’t they all) so I decided to check it out.

Obviously, I haven’t been keeping up with much leading up to Infinity Wars: Prime #1 besides an issue here or there, but Duggan does a good job of catching the reader up to speed and not feeling too lost with what is going on. There are some things that had me lost and that I was not really sure about. As a whole, though, Duggan does a good job of keeping the reader up to speed. I do enjoy how dramatic Duggan makes Infinity Wars: Prime #1. His dialogue and captions do make this feel like the huge cosmic event that it is. Duggan gives Infinity Wars: Prime #1 the grandiose scope it deserves.

There is a very shocking death, and the emergence of a mysterious character. I was very caught off guard by what happened in this issue. It is something that I certainly did not see coming. I am not sure what to think about it. Yes, it is shocking, but like every other “death” I am sure something will happen to rectify it. I would like to see how it plays out before judging it. This certain character died a little too easily for this not to be some kind of bait-and-switch.

Art

Mike Deodato Jr. handles the art in Infinity Wars: Prime #1. He has a fantastic style for this cosmic event book. His wonderful eye for detail and more “realistic” character design fits well with the serious scope of this series. He adds some superb background detail to each and every page. Deodato has some stunning pages with Doctor Strange in them. The amount of detail he puts into his cloak and the way he presents his character is wonderful. Adam Warlock looks stunning as well; he makes the character look as majestic and haunting, as he should be. Frank Martin’s colors are phenomenal. He gives a painted feel to the world and characters. He uses some darker colorations throughout Infinity Wars: Prime #1 to great effect.

Deodato’s facial expressions are not the best; the emotion the characters need to convey I feel is not fully expressed. My biggest gripe art-wise, I am not sure why Deodato does this. But he will have a full page or half a page of a character/characters in a scene, and instead of breaking the whole scene into smaller panels or just having it in bigger panels, he has like a full page spread but breaks up pieces of the big scene and character into smaller panels. There is a page of Dr. Strange and Adam Warlock talking, and it’s a whole page, but then there are panel borders breaking up Strange’s legs, or one part of Adam Warlock’s head is in one panel and the other part of his head is in the next panel. It looks very odd to me and just feels very out of place, and makes for an odd visual experience in some scenes.

Conclusion 

Infinity Wars: Prime #1 has an ending that you definitely will not see coming and is a great start to this event. I am not the biggest Marvel Cosmic fan or a fan of events, but this one has me hooked for a little while just to see how the things that happen in this issue shake out. I do have some hang-ups story- and art-wise, but overall this was pretty interesting, and the whole Marvel Universe should be on notice after this issue! 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: