Reviews

Review – Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2 (Marvel Comics)

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2 (Marvel Comics) main cover (detail) by Billy Tan w sticker
  • Writing - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2

Writer: Larry Hama
Artist: David Wachter
Colorist: Neeraj Menon
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: February 17, 2021

Why did Task Master steal the heart of the Under City’s Dragon and why is Lady Bullseye after Gork’s heart? Somebody is stealing the powers from the Heavenly Cities and Danny Rand must assemble a team to put a stop to it!

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Sacred Heart” Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2

The Heavenly Cities are under attack and the Immortal Iron Fist, Danny Rand, is tasked with building a team to defend them in Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2! In a wild first issue, we found Danny, after fighting off an army of zombie ninjas and unable to stop Task Master from stealing the heart of the Under City’s Dragon, arriving home only to find more undead ninjas and Lady Bullseye trying to steal the heart of the young dragon, Gork. Luckily Danny, Luke Cage, Fooh, and Pei were able to fend off Lady Bullseye, saving Gork.

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2 (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Emanuela Lupacchino
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2 (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Emanuela Lupacchino

But now, after a message from Mother of Mercy Quan Yin, Danny Rand knows what he must do. As the Immortal Iron Fist, he must defend the Heavenly Cities. Someone seeks to take their power, the very hearts of the dragons. But who and why? In Immortal Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2, Danny Rand, Luke Cage, Fooh, Pei, and Gork seek out answers.

Writing

After an exciting first issue, Larry Hama settles it down a bit in Heart of the Dragon #2. Hama starts setting the stage and building the drama up for this six-issue mini-series. I do love that this is somewhat of a “team” book. Luke Cage, Fooh, and Pei are all involved, as well. Hama does a fantastic job of focusing the story on Danny Rand but also getting these other characters involved. Though at times Luke Cage still talks like he is from the ’70s, I am pretty okay with it. I am not going to hate on Powerman and Iron Fist teaming up.

Hama makes Heart of the Dragon #2 an exciting issue even though it is more of a set-up for things to come. Being the veteran he is, he builds up some gripping sequences and keeps the reader engaged. He lays the foundation for the story and builds upon it in interesting ways. Also, the issue feels “full”, in that it feels like a lot happens and you get a lot of story in these pages.

Hama’s focus on Danny Rand is a nice look into his character. He makes him feel a bit older and wiser. A little change-up from maybe the more laid-back character he has been portrayed as before.

Art

David Wachter brings some wonderful settings to life in Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2. The first part of the issue is set in the “Heart of Heaven”. Wachter paints it in a wonderful mystic manner. The whole first part of the issue in that setting is beautifully detailed by Wachter. He draws some stunningly beautiful dragons. They look wispy and elegant, yet fearsome, all at the same time.

I liked Wachter’s human characters more in this issue than I did in the previous issue. I love when we get close-ups of characters’ faces, as we get to see all the wonderful ink marks and scratches on them. Also, Pei looks like how old she should be in this issue. I had complained about that previously. Actually, all the characters look great. Plus you know I am a stickler for background detail, and Wachter brings the whole world to life.

Great layouts by Wachter, as well. Going back to those Heart of Heaven scenes, Wachter lays out these dreamlike sequences superbly well. Also, delightful coloring work by Neeraj Menon. Again, I’ll point out that Wachter’s art style is not an easy one to color, especially with the change of scenery in this issue, but Menon captures it all wonderfully well. His more pastel type color palette fits perfectly.

Conclusion

You know I was not super-excited about Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2. I mean, I enjoyed the first issue and I am a huge Iron Fist fanboy, but it just didn’t have me super-hyped. But, man, this was a fun issue. I loved every little bit of it. Hama builds up the story well, while Wachter and Menon drop some beautiful artwork. I am very excited for the next for issues after what has happened here. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • 160x600
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
%d bloggers like this: