Reviews

Review – Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3 (Marvel Comics)

  • Writing - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3

Writer: Larry Hama
Artist: David Wachter
Colorist: Neeraj Menon
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: March 17, 2021

Why is the mythical eight heavenly city attacking and why does it want the dragons hearts?

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Double Dragon” Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3

 

Iron Fist is not alone in his fight to save the heavenly cities’ dragons. Along with Luke Cage, Pei, Fooh, and Gork; other immortal weapons Fat Cobra, Dog Brother, and Bride of Nine Spiders have joined the fight; and when the eighth cities army of undead ninjas enter Wakanda Okoye joins the battle in Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3 (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Jeffrey Veregge
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3 (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Jeffrey Veregge

Danny Rand the Immortal Iron Fist is still trying to figure out why the mystical eighth heavenly city is attacking and fighting back against its army of undead ninjas released on the Marvel Universe. But, why does this mysterious eighth city leader want to destroy everything?

Writing

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3 is pure superhero/comic book joy from Larry Hama. We are directly at the mid-point for this six-issue mini-series and Hama has built up a lot of intrigue to this point and adds in some interesting new twist with Heart of the Dragon #3.

Hama shows off those “old school” comic book writing skills, with introducing and naming characters often. He makes sure to introduce everyone and uses their names. There was one character introduced in this issue that I had never seen before and Hama did a fantastic job of giving her name and her power set right away. A thing that use to be used all the time, but gets left out a lot of the time. It helps a lot with a series with so many characters like this one.

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #3 has turned the series into an even more fun team series. It should not be a surprise to anyone that Hama is good at writing a team series. Writing GI for a few years will do that to you. Hama does an excellent job of giving different characters a spotlight to shine. But also not taking away from the story or our main character Iron Fist. It is all around a fantastically paced story. Again, just veteran comic book writing on display on how he balances everything and sets up the next issue.

Art

I am still digging Dave Wachter‘s art in Heart of the Dragon #3. Wachter does not have the most dynamic style, but he adds grit and grime to the fight scenes. There is a wonderful scene of Luke Cage fighting off a horde of undead ninjas and is just an obsoletely great set of panels. Wachter details him tearing apart these zombie warriors delightfully well.

Can David Wachter just draw dragons all day every day? I know I mentioned this in the review for issue #2, but my gosh he draws stunningly beautiful dragons. Which I really shouldn’t be surprised by from his work on TMNT and Godzilla: Cataclysm Wachter has always detailed wonderful monsters and mystical creatures.

Neeraj Menon colors also continue to work exquisitely well in Heart of the Dragon #3. He catches the grit and grime well of battling these undead ninjas. Again that scene with Luke Cage is fantastically brought to life with Menon colors. He also brings a brightness to the pages with that hero I mentioned previously who will go unnamed for spoiler reasons.

Conclusion

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon is extremely fun and exciting! Heart of the Dragon #3 continues to build the series up and tease some very interesting things to come. I love the “team” aspect of this issue and series. Hama deals with each well, while not neglecting our main character Danny Rand and continuing to build an intriguing story. The art brings the superhero action to life, with some mesmerizing dragons. Hama has also done an excellent job of involving the whole Marvel Universe adding in new and old lore alike. I am excited to read this series every time it hits the stands.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comic book

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • 160x600
%d bloggers like this: