Reviews

Review – Jennika #1 (IDW Publishing)

Jennika #1  Cover Image
Jennika #1
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Art - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Jennika #1

Writer: Braham Revel (Main), Ronda Pattison (back-up)
Artist: Braham Revel (Main), Jodi Nishijima (back-up)
Colorist: Braham Revel (Main), Ronda Pattison (back-up)
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release: February 26, 2020

Jennika has been through a lot in her short life, formerly homeless barely scrapping by. Then to Foot Clan Elite Soldier, then to Splinter showing her the true way. Becoming Splinter’s Chunin when he took over the Foot Clan, falling in love with Casey Jones. Now being mutated in to a giant Turtle is just another thing in he troubled life.

 

Changing Tides in Jennika #1

 

The former homeless punk rocker, turned Foot Clan Ninja Elite Soldier, too Splinters Chunin and now mutated Turtle gets the spotlight in Jennika #1. This three-issue mini-series spotlights Jennika’s trouble as she deals with her recent mutation into a giant humanoid turtle. We see how she copes with her new life. How she helps others that have recently changed in Mutant Town and how she has adapted to the loss of Splinter. Her past comes back in many forms in Jennika #1.

Writing 

Jennika #1
Jennika #1 Brahm Revel (Author, Artist, Cover Artist) Ronda Pattison (Author, Colorist) Jodi Nishijima (Artist)

Jennika #1 has two stories in it Braham Revel handles the main story while Ronda Pattison makes her TMNT writing debut in a short back up story. I was happy to see Revel handling the main story. He wrote the original story as back-ups in TMNT Universe issues #6, #7, #8 and #9 titles What is Ninja that told Jennika’s origin story (check out my reviews of those issues here). I loved the story he wove in those issues and was very excited to see him back with the character.

Obviously, Jennika has gone through a lot in her life since then. Battling the Turtles as a Foot Soldier, then becoming Splinters Chunin, getting into a relationship with Casey Jones and the biggest being turned into a mutant turtle through a blood transfusion with Leonardo in TMNT #95. So, Revel has a lot for the character to digest in this mini-series. Right of the bat Revel feels right at home with Jennika, as the dialogue feels crisp and fits with her as a character. I love how Revel starts adding in her past story as well. We still don’t know a ton about her, but Revel stats filling in some blanks in Jennika #1.

Now the main TMNT book has been dealing with some of Jennika’s troubles (you can read my reviews of the recent issues to see my thoughts on that). But this issue and mini-series start to deal with her troubles more in-depth. We get more with her and her break-up with Casey Jones which will probably get more in-depth with as the mini-series continues. We also get some insight into her thoughts on the transformation, something completely shocking that we haven’t really “sat down” with her about since so much has been going on recently.

Art

I have alas been a big fan of Braham Revel’s art style. The Sketchy, rough feeling he delivers just sings to me. It shines through once again in Jennika #1. He imbues the issue with tons of energy from panel to panel. Giving everything a nice sense of movement and power as the characters come across the pages. He also uses that movement well to help the story develop smoothly across the pages.

I still not 100% on how Revel draws the Turtles faces/heads though. It is a common thread I have when I review his work on TMNT. Something about the perfect roundness and flat feeling it has. It just doesn’t look right to me on the pages. Especially when all the other characters faces anthropomorphic animal or human look great.

I do dig Revel’s coloring work throughout Jennika #1. There are some fantastic scenes that Brevel paints in a very bright blue, pink, white hue that looks awesome. It is great for the images and scenery being shown and fits the mood perfectly.

Back-Up

The short back-up story in Jennika #1  is written by Ronda Pattison, the longtime colorist gets her shot at writing and she does not disappoint. It is a nice short story of what Splinter meant to Jennika and how she is dealing with his death. It is short and sweet, something that delivers all it needs in the few pages. Pulling some heartstrings and lets us know how Jennika felt about Master Splinter. Plus Pattison colors it as well and if you follow me at all you know how much I adore her coloring work (seriously somebody get her an Eisner).

The art for the back-up story is by Jodi Nishijima, somebody that I am not familiar with at all. Nishijima has a nice “cleaner” more detailed style and I dug the little bit we got from it. She didn’t have much to do but she delivered the story well. I am excited to see more from her in the future.

Conclusion

Jennika #1 delivers what I want in a Jennika mini-series and kind of (to me at least) confirms my complaints from the main series. This is where I want to see her dealing with all of her problems. The main TMNT series has enough characters. Jennika #1 really made me like the character once again. I was growing a bit weary of her in the main series. We get to delve into everything she has gone through a little (I am glad this is a mini-series so we can get more in-depth) in 8224e3. From her dealing with her mutation, her break up with Casey Jones, her past and the loss of her mentor Splinter. It also has a nice hook ending that has me very interested to see where this goes.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: