Uncategorized

Review – Lucy Dreaming #5 (BOOM! Studios)

Review - Lucy Dreaming #5
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10

Summary

Writer: Max Bemis
Art: Michael Dialynas
Letterer: Josh Reed
Publisher: Boom! Studios
Maturity Rating: 12+ Only
Release Date: July 25, 2018

When Lucy ripped a hole back to the waking world, she brought all of her villains with her. Even with everything she’s learned across her dreams, Lucy may not be enough to stop them. Not alone.

Overall
8.2/10
8.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Being the Hero of Her Favorite Stories in Lucy Dreaming #5

Lucid dreaming is practiced by shamans, psychics, and apparently Lucy. It is when you are able to be awake and aware of the dream you are in at the same time. Personally, I have looked into this myself, yet it takes skill to accomplish, or magic. I have neither. In Lucy Dreaming #5 the story continues. 13-year-old Lucy is still slipping into different realities when her head hits her pillow. She goes from thrilling dystopian battles to epic space wars! Yet, these are not like normal dreams; these have very real consequences. As she ripped a hole back to the waking world, she brought all of her villains with her. Will she be enough to stop them? 

Lucy Dreaming #5 (BOOM! Studios) cover by Michael Dialynas
Cover by Michael Dialynas

This is the final issue of Lucy Dreaming. To begin, Lucy is having a discussion with someone rather unusual. She had encountered this character in a previous installment. Throughout it all, Lucy continues to be an incredibly likable protagonist, and the grounded way she continues to deal with this extraordinary situation makes her even more relatable.  There were some great lines of dialogue that graced the pages, even though this issue does tend to be a bit more visual than its predecessors. Michael Dialynas continues the heavy lifting with his typical stellar artwork. 

 Writing

In Lucy Dreaming #5, I was a bit confused with the opening banter between Lucy and the encounter. Max Bemis had her encounter conversing with her in an interesting tongue. It was rather backward. Now, the style of art suggested it might be within Alice in Wonderland rhyme, similar to the Mad Hatter and his absurd text. Nonetheless, it was difficult to read and make out what he was trying to guide her to do. I may have to be caught up on the previous issues to know where they were coming from. Moving forward in Lucy Dreaming #5, it wasn’t as captivating as I was hoping. There was a bit more feminist tone; yet, again, this perception could be due to not reading the first four issues. 

Art

Michael Dialynas created decent characters and allowed the coloring to stay pastel and light like a dream. There was no limit to what kind of character you might see within each panel as the story progressed. The characters lines were simplistic yet definitive. Dialynas was able to create emotions to be visual and you could understand what the character was feeling and going through as the issue progressed.

Final Thoughts

Lucy Dreaming #5 was not really my cup of tea (see what I did there? Alice reference!). Again, it may be different if I decide to pick up the first four issues and see if it changes my opinion. Overall, I think that Bemis and Dialynas created a great series for a specific crowd and they are eating it up. 

This is written with a stronger feminist voice, which, don’t get me wrong, I appreciate this. Bemis does conclude the story well with brilliant execution. At the end of the day, Lucy Dreaming #5 is still a series I would recommend as worth taking a look at. It features some creative ideas about the imagination, some humor, and coloring that is dynamic and adds a real sense of energy to the writing. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

WOTN on Instagram

  • 160x600
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
%d bloggers like this: