Reviews

Review – MMPR/TMNT #1 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing)

MMPR/TMNT #1 (BOOM Studios/IDWO Publishing) cover C (detail) by Goni Montes
Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Writing - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Art - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

MMPR/TMNT #1

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Simone di Meo
Colorist: Walter Baiamonte w/assist by Igor Monti
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing
Release Date: December 4, 2019

The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers track the Green Ranger to New York City. But he has joined a new crew: the Foot Clan! And what are these weird giant Turtles attacking them for?

 

It’s Fresh, It’s Fly, It’s MMPR/TMNT #1

Tommy Oliver, AKA Green Ranger, has been missing for a while. Trini, Jason, Billy, Zach, and Kimberly are a bit worried. Has Rita got ahold of him? Has something terrible happened? Luckily, Zordon and Alpha are able to locate him in New York City. The Rangers rush to him, but find him battling some totally gnarly green dudes! It is not like the Power Rangers haven’t battled odd monsters before, but these…Turtles have mad ninja skills and are not like anything they have faced. And Tommy seems to be running with a fresh new crew, as well. What is a Foot Clan and a Shredder? Will the two teams come together to find out, or is it already too late in MMPR/TMNT #1?

Writing

MMPR/TMNT #1 (BOOM Studios IDW Publishing) cover A by Dan Mora
MMPR/TMNT #1 (BOOM Studios/IDW Publishing) cover A by Dan Mora

MMPR/TMNT #1 is a mini-series that I have been highly anticipating. Much of that has to do with being a nostalgic ’90s kid. But nostalgia can only bring a thing so far; what really got me on board was, Ryan Parrott would be writing this 5-issue mini-series. I love Ryan Parrott’s work on Go Go Power Rangers. You can check out my reviews for the first 20 issues to see me gush over what fantastic work he did with the “OG” ’90s Power Rangers. I was excited to see him bring his character work and plotting into a franchise I love: TMNT.

Now, these first-issue team-up/crossover stories can be a little tricky. Parrott has a lot of leg work to do in MMPR/TMNT #1. He has a ton of characters to introduce and get together. We get the basic meet-up and fight, which is a given, and I honestly would have been a little disappointed if we didn’t see. But he seems to maybe get the gist of that out of the way in the first issue. He gets the story going pretty fast and after this first issue everything is pretty much set up to really get going.

Parrott’s writing of the TMNT brothers seems pulled directly from the original live-action ’90s movie, which is perfect for me. You got Mikey and Donnie trading barbs and Raph acting classic Raph, and Leo has a nice balance of being the leader but a little more relaxed. His work on the original Ranger characters has always been fantastic, and that continues with this issue. Parrott’s first interaction between the two groups is also well-done. He plants some nice seeds to be followed up on in the next four issues.

Art

Simone di Meo holds down the art duties for MMPR/TMNT #1. I am a little familiar with di Meo’s work; I have read a bit of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers but didn’t follow it as closely as Go Go Power Rangers. Simone di Meo has a very “angular” type character style. It is very stylized and looks perfect for the Power Rangers. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles design took a little getting used to. Now, being a huge fan of IDW’s TMNT series, I am used to different artists’ interpretations of the Turtles, but the angular style took me a little getting used to. They have a very “sharp” look that, at first, was a little off-putting, but by the end of MMPR/TMNT #1 I really started digging.

He also does some slight design changes for the Turtles, as well, that I like. The masks are a little bigger and cover larger parts of their heads. Each brother also has a slightly different mask design, as well. I really enjoy how Simone di Meo draws the Foot Clan soldiers. They look delightfully menacing; his style gives them a nice “edge” to them, and he makes the costume look awesome.

What makes di Meo great for MMPR/TMNT #1 is some great panel structure and a wonderful sense of movement on the pages. The fight scenes are laid out perfectly and seeing the two crews battling it out looks fantastic. The pages are full of energy and the characters have a tremendous sense of movement.

Coloring

Walter Baiamonte, with assist by Igor Monti, does the coloring work on MMPR/TMNT #1. It has the more “digital” computer type coloring feel, which normally I don’t typically enjoy. Yes, I know about 90% of all comics drawing and coloring is done digitally nowadays, but this just has that feel to it. I was surprised by how much I liked the coloring even though it had that presence. It works well with di Meo’s style and the brighter colors play up that ’90s vibe.

Conclusion

This is the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles meet-up you have been looking for. No, this one never happened. MMPR/TMNT #1 feels like more than just fan-service or banking on nostalgia for sales. Ryan Parrott starts off what seems to be a very interesting story for the two teams, while Simone di Meo, Walter Baiamonte and Igor Monti deliver some delightfully dynamic art.

If you are a fan of either or both of these properties you will not be disappointed in MMPR/TMNT #1. It delivers what I personally love about each of them, while also starting an interesting story between the two. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Leave a Reply

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: