Reviews

Review – MMPR/TMNT #2 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing)

MMPR/TMNT #2 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) FOC variant cover (detail) by Humberto Ramos
Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Writing - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Art - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

MMPR/TMNT #2

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Simone di Meo w/assist by Alessio Zonno
Colorist: Walter Baiamonte w/assist by Igor Monti
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Publisher: BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing
Maturity Rating: Teen
Release Date: January 8, 2019

The two teams of teens have to come together and fight the true enemy. Why has Tommy Oliver joined the Foot Clan and what are Shredder’s plans for the Green Ranger?

 

“Bodacious” MMPR/TMNT #2

The two teenage crews have come to blows, but now it is time to come together in MMPR/TMNT #2. Teenagers can be moody and grumpy, especially if they have to wake up early to save the world! The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Mighty Morphin Power Rangers are at odds. Why is a Power Ranger in the Foot Clan? Are the Mutant Ninja Turtles really just one of another of Rita’s monsters? The group needs some common ground to sort out the differences…pizza party, anyone? Tommy must have a good reason for joining the evil Shredder, but what could it possibly be?

Writing

MMPR/TMNT #2 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) cover A by Dan Mora
MMPR/TMNT #2 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) cover A by Dan Mora

After a righteous MMPR/TMNT #1 (check out the review), Ryan Parrott gets down to it MMPR/TMNT #2. I think the second issue of any 5-issue mini-series has to be the toughest. It is that weird middle ground of the story. Parrott has gotten the general meet-and-fight out of the way; now it is time to get to the meat of the story while doing some fan service.

I am happy to say Parrott does a great job of not only moving the story along but delivering everything you could want from a TMNT/Power Rangers mashup. We get a lot of fun interactions between the groups and some fantastic scenes as they get to know each other. I love seeing Parrott write the Turtles. I already know he has a fantastic grip on 5 original Power Rangers characters, so it is really fun to see his version of the TMNT crew. Parrott seems to have a knack for getting into characters’ heads and bringing out some good story details. I wouldn’t mind seeing him get a shot at a TMNT book.

Parrott doesn’t wait around in MMPR/TMNT #2, either; he moves the story along in new and interesting places. He allows the story to be all sorts of fun and nostalgic dreams while still making it engaging and interesting in and of itself. 

Art

I noted this a little in my review of the first issue but Simone di Meo‘s (with assist by Alessio Zonno) style is not my personal favorite. It has that little too “digital” angular feel that I generally do not like but, man, does it ever work for this series! I am surprised at how much I like it just because of my personal taste. It brings a nice unique visual feel to the story and series. It has a great sense of energy and sets the overall “vibe” for the story perfectly.

I continue to love how Simone di Meo plays with the designs of the characters. He mixes and matches from different eras of TMNT well, and adds in his own unique flair. Slight spoiler, but Bebop and Rocksteady show up and they look fantastic. Visually MMPR/TMNT #2 is an absolute blast to look at.

Walter Baiamonte, with assist by Igor Monti, does some delightful coloring work. I am not sure how he mixes this light and darkness so well throughout this issue, but it looks great. Again, it is not my favorite coloring style, but I cannot deny it just works with this series. There are also a lot of words, dialogue, onomatopoeia and such in the issue and Ed Dukeshire does an incredible job in the lettering department in making it all come together.

Conclusion

MMPR/TMNT #2 is just plain and simple fun. If you are a fan of either of these properties there is no reason not to enjoy this. If the other three issues are just as good then we are in for a treat. It is hard for me to read this issue without a smile on my face, and the final page stinger is just wonderful. It really does deliver everything you could want from both of these properties. The story nor the art is “phoning it in” either. There is a lot of heart and love going into it.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: