Reviews

Review – MMPR/TMNT #5 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing)

MMPR/TMNT #5 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) cover A (detail) by Dan Mora
MMPR/TMNT #5
Overall
8.2/10
8.2/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

MMPR/TMNT #5

Writer: Ryan Parrott
Artist: Simone di Meo w/assistance by Alessio Zonno
Colorist: Walter Baiamonte w/assist by Igor Monti
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing
Release Date: June 17, 2020

The mini-series finale is here. Teenagers with attitude trying to save the world! Morphin Power Turtles piloting a giant robot! Rita Repulsa, Shredder, a giant Bebop and Rocksteady! It is going to be a wild ride!

 

’90s-Kid Delight in MMPR/TMNT #5

Well, the end is here in the most bodacious, radical team-up of all time in MMPR/TMNT #5. It has been tubular, it has been extreme. The two teams of teenagers with attitude are ready to put an end to Shredder and Rita Repulsa’s plan. The Turtles have morphed into actual Power Rangers and are now piloting the Megazord, set to battle a monster-sized Bebop and Rocksteady.

MMPR/TMNT #5 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) variant cover by Mike Del Mundo
MMPR/TMNT #5 (BOOM! Studios/IDW Publishing) variant cover by Mike Del Mundo

The Power Rangers have put their ninja skills to use infiltrating the Technodrome. But the Turtles might need some giant help. Luckily Billy has a plan and it involves Metalhead. Giant Turtle Megazord! It is something you are going to have to see to believe. Come on, kids, you know you can’t miss the wild conclusion of the most epic team-up of all time! MMPR/TMNT #5 is all that and a bag of chips!

Writing

Man, what to say about MMPR/TMNT #5? I mean, I have stated before, I love Ryan Parrott‘s writing, from Go! Go! Power Rangers to his current Death to the Army of Darkness. He does great work. IDW really needs to scoop him up for a TMNT run. I mean, if you grew up on a steady diet of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and the original Mighty Morphin Power Rangers like me, then Parrott absolutely delivers everything you could have ever wanted in a team-up of the two teams.

I mean, honestly, by the end of MMPR/TMNT #5, I can’t really think of anything else I would have liked to be in this book. Parrott absolutely delivered a fantastic, fun, wild team-up between the two classic teams. I mean, okay, I can’t really tell you exactly what the plot was, but it did what it had to do to bring the characters together. MMPR/TMNT #5 was also a really fast read. But those are very minor things in the big scope.

We are talking about MMPR and TMNT here. We really didn’t need a hard-boiled, serious plot, or tons of dramatics. Parrott brought in the best of both worlds and combined them. At the end of the series the little kid of my heart was well satisfied with what was delivered. If you are a ’90s kid who watched these shows, you cannot help but smile throughout the issue.

Art

I have been a little up and down on the art in this series and I think I have pinpointed some things at the end with MMPR/TMNT #5. I love Simone Di Meo‘s style. You can check my other reviews, but man he makes the characters look fantastic. The Turtles have no right looking as cool as they do in their Ranger armor. The Power Rangers also look fantastic in their ninja outfits. He has great details and tons of great character and background work throughout.

I think my major hangup is just the layout and structure of the book. MMPR/TMNT #5 has some great setups for cool sequences that are never fully visually realized. I don’t really want to spoil anything, but there are some epic scenes set up, that I think if they had a different visual perspective or layout, would have had a much greater dramatic effect. They kind of fall flat, which is a little disappointing. A lot of the times the action is not super well-sequenced, either, and things get “lost” from a visual storytelling angle.

The art is not bad in MMPR/TMNT #5. I want to make that clear. I like the coloring work by Walter Baiamonte w/assist by Igor Monti. It fits well and brings this wild world to life. Simone di Meo, w/assistance by Alessio Zonno, has some fantastic work as well. The art itself is great. Just structurally, from a visual perspective, I think it could have overall been better.

Conclusion

I know I have some hangups on art but, just as a whole, the creative team has done a tremendous job on this series. As a fan of both of these franchises, I had everything I could have wanted. It is pure fanservice. Now, if you are not a fan of either one of these, this book does not have anything to offer you. But for someone like me, it was a delight to read.

MMPR/TMNT #5 wraps up the mini-series in a fun way, as well. It is just a pure fun book. If you are looking to escape this wild world for a few minutes then you need to grab this and hold on for a shell of a time!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: