Reviews

Review – Moonshine #13 (Image Comics)

Moonshine #13 (Image Comics) cover (detail) by Eduardo Risso
Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 9/10
    9/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Moonshine #13

Writer: Brian Azzarello
Artist: Eduardo Risso
Colorist: Eduardo Risso w/ Assist by Kristian Rossi
Letter & Design: Jared K. Fletcher
Publisher: Image Comics
Maturity Rating: Mature
Release Date: November 13, 2019

Lou Pirlo: part man, part wolf, and all trouble. With his bloody prison escape maybe New Orleans holds good fortunes for a troubled man.

 

“Curse of the Werewolf” Moonshine #13

Lou Pirlo is back and in more trouble. After a recent brush with the law down in Louisiana and time on a chain gang, Lou made a bloody escape. Now Delia has brought him to some people that may be able to help in New Orleans in Moonshine #13. But no one helps without a price, and werewolf cures cost a pretty penny. Lou looks to scrounge up some cash in the Big Easy. He knows his way around crooks and thieves—his own kind. But he may have gotten himself in an even bigger bind.

Writing

Moonshine #13 (Image Comics) cover by Eduardo Risso
Moonshine #13 (Image Comics) cover by Eduardo Risso

After another long layoff, the werewolf/crime series is back with Moonshine #13. I thought I would have a little more trouble getting back into this series, like I did after the first pause in the series. But Brian Azzarello did a good job bringing us back into this world by keeping the story fully focused on Lou. Moonshine doesn’t jump back and forth from Lou to Tempest in Virginia like the previous story arc. For me, this made it easier to remember what had happened previously and it was easier to stay connected with the story.

Azzarello did some great stuff with this issue storywise. There is an eerie meeting with some “witches” where he brings out some creepy and interesting story points to start this new story arc. I also liked seeing Lou Pirlo in his “element” as he hits up seedy ways to make money. 

The ending of Moonshine #13 was also brilliant. Obviously, I won’t spoil it, but its something that is interesting and shocking, all at the same time. It was perfectly set up and is a fantastic teaser for the next issue and the story to come in it.

Art

I have missed me some Eduardo Risso art. I had forgotten how good and talented he is. There are some wonderful pages in Moonshine #13. He continues to do a slight style switch-up within the issue. It starts off with a dream type sequence featuring a werewolf slowly appearing over a moonlit night. He paints the colors with assist by Kristian Rossi in this wonderful chalky gray and a delightfully ghoulish red, while the wolf slowly appears in a three-panel grid over two pages. It looks fantastic and plays out well to tell the story in the dream.

Risso also continues to play well with shadows in this series. I love how he casts different characters in shadows with only their eyes appearing. It sets a mood and tone in the scenes superbly well, also working tremendously well as a visual storytelling method. It brings show much out in the story.

Conclusion

I am very happy that Moonshine is back and this is probably the best start to a new story arc since the first issue. Now, Moonshine #13 is not a good jumping-on point, but you can easily pick up the two trades to catch up. The art continues to be fantastic and just a delight to look at. If you are looking for a horror/crime story then you really need to jump on the Moonshine train.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 9/10
    9/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Moonshine #13

Writer: Brian Azzarello
Artist: Eduardo Risso
Colorist: Eduardo Risso w/ Assist by Kristian Rossi
Letter & Design: Jared K. Fletcher
Publisher: Image Comics
Maturity Rating: Mature
Release Date: November 13, 2019

Lou Pirlo: part man, part wolf, and all trouble. With his bloody prison escape maybe New Orleans holds good fortunes for a troubled man.

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: