Reviews

Review – Rat Queens #18 (Image Comics)

Rat Queens #18
Overall
7.5/10
7.5/10
  • Writing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Ryan Ferrier
Artist: Priscilla Petraites
Colorist: Marco Lesko
Letterer: Ryan Ferrier
Publisher: Image Comics
Maturity Rating: M
Release Date: September 11th, 2019

The Rat Queens have been trying to prepare for a fight as of late, and the time has finally arrived in Rat Queens #18.

 

The Legacy of the Rat Queens in Rat Queens #18

The Rat Queens haven’t been quite the same since Violet left, even with the new addition of Madison. They just seem to have lost their zest for life since. Losing Palisade didn’t help either, which is why Rat Queens #18 brings our ladies on a quest to get it all back.

This issue continues a quest started by the Rat Queens—where they were hoping to get either Violet back or a great big weapon to help them in battle. This team may have a lot they need to work through…but at least they have plenty of time to do so while they climb a mountain or two.

Rat Queens #18 (Image Comics) cover by Priscilla Petraites and Marco Lasko
Rat Queens #18 (Image Comics) cover by Priscilla Petraites and Marco Lasko

Rat Queens is a series that has been facing changes as of late. But this issue went a long way in making those changes feel a bit more comfortable. And it addresses many of the elephants in the room. It’s a refreshing take for many fans.

Writing

Rat Queens #18 was written by Ryan Ferrier, and I get the feeling he’d been planning on this plot for a while now. It just fit in so perfectly with all of the events that have been happening lately, everything from Violet leaving to Madison joining up. Even the tension between current members is covered here. It was a perfect resolution for us fans.

This issue had a lot of intense moments; the quest itself was a perilous one (but that isn’t unusual for this team), and then there are the rising tensions between several of the Queens. There were a lot of emotions laid out on the table, and more than one dramatic event that occurred.

But I think that was exactly what we needed to see. The Rat Queens have been through a lot lately, and Ferrier brought all of that to the forefront. Now they (and we) can move on. It’s time for something bigger.

Art

Rat Queens #18 gave us our Queens completely covered in snow, yet the creative team worked well with this icy location. They made full use of the color palette provided and seemed especially fond of showing off all the ice and cliffs. It’s a bit of a change when you think back to other issues and their dominant color palettes. But it was a good change, one that worked well here. And of course, it forced us to focus entirely on the characters, which might just have been the point.

Priscilla Petraites was the lead artist for this issue, with Marco Lesko providing the colors. So give them all the credit for what they were able to do within these pages. Also worth noting: Ferrier himself handled the lettering for this issue.

Conclusion

Rat Queens #18 was an emotional and dramatic issue, but in many ways, it was the tale that our characters needed. Though, it will be interesting to see how they handle the next turn of events. Regardless, I can’t wait to see the newly-invigorated Rat Queens continue on!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: