Reviews

Review – Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 (Marvel Comics)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 (Marvel Comics) variant cover (detail) by Ron Lim
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • Art - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1

Writers: Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum (Main), Donny Cates (Backup)
Artists: Scott Hepburn (Main), Geoff Shaw (Backup)
Colorists: Antonio Fabela (Main), Matt Milla (Backup)
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Release Date: December 18, 2019

Cosmic Ghost Rider is on another crazy adventure through the Galaxy, but this time he might have bitten off more than even he can chew!

 

 

“Locked Up Abroad” Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1

Future Frank Castle has been through a lot. Having the power of the Ghost Rider; being imbued with the power cosmic and being a herald of Galactus; working side by side with the Mad Titan Thanos; going back and time and trying to right his wrongs; and, most recently, fighting the Avengers and having a motorcycle race in hell! Now in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1, Frank finds himself locked up in an intergalactic jail cell. But he is right where he wants to be. The Cosmic Ghost Rider has never been sane, but now he might have bitten off more than he can chew.

Writing

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Scott Hepburn
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Scott Hepburn

I personally have been a little bit burned out on the Cosmic Ghost Rider character. His popularity since Donny Cates’ Thanos run has exploded and he seems to be everywhere now. Some of the series, I have liked, and others, not so much. So, I wasn’t exactly hyped to open the pages of Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1. I was not really sure what Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum was going to do with this future version of Frank Castle. The character had seemed to run his course with me, and the first pages of this book kind of verified my thoughts.

The first part was kind of typical Cosmic Ghost Rider stuff, wacky revenge type deal, so I was about to write this five-issue mini-series off, but as I kept going Hallum changed up the story nicely. We get introduced to a little new dynamic, adding some new/old characters in a fun and interesting setting. By the end of the issue, I was very excited to see where Hallum would take this story. It was a nice switch-up and Hallum breathes some life into the character.

There is also an incredible short story by the original creators of the Cosmic Ghost Rider, Donny Cates and Geoff Shaw. It is a very hard-hitting, emotional short story penned by Donny Cates. He always has an incredible knack for emotional storytelling and he nails it in this poignant little short story.

Art

I was excited to see Scott Hepburn on art duties for Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1. He has a wildly aggressive art style that I love. It is full of potent, lively energy that makes the pages come to life. It is fully present in this issue. When Frank finally lets the Cosmic Ghost Rider out it is a wonderfully dynamic one-page shot that is full of what makes Hepburn great. 

I think the other thing that Hepburn does extremely well is his cartooning on characters’ faces. He has a bit of that animated, over-exaggerated facial expressions, but it works really well, not only for comedy type bits but also for conveying character emotions throughout the issue. I love having Antonio Fabela on colors as well. He has colored a lot of Cosmic Ghost Rider stuff and I always enjoy his vivid coloration of flames and just the wonderful bright textures he uses.

Geoff Shaw handles the art duties with Matt Milla on colors for the short story. It is a wonderful contrast in art from what the main story gives us. Shaw has that detailed, hard-lined style that is a bit more grounded than Hepburn, and it fits this story perfectly, along with the darker color tone Milla delivers.  

Conclusion

I wasn’t really excited about picking up another Cosmic Ghost Rider series, and the start of the story did have me concerned. But by the end of Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 (of 5), I was all on board with this mini-series. Hallum delivers some new and interesting dynamics and I am excited to see what he does in the next few issues. The backup story from Donny Cates is a fantastic, emotional short story that hits all the right beats.

There are no complaints about the art as, for the main story, Scott Hepburn and Antonio Fabela delivers some splendid visuals. It is energetic and brightly wild; that is a delight to look at. The exaggerated bodies and wonderful character acting bring the story full circle. Geoff Shaw and Matt Milla nail the darker story Donny Cates brings. It is sincere and full of wonderful details.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: