Reviews

Review – Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 (Marvel Comics)

Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2

Writer: Dennis “Hopeless” Hollum
Artist: Scott Hepburn
Colorist: Antonio Fabela
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Release Date: January 15, 2020

Even the cosmos has a no-good, drug-dealing Kingpin, and he is after the Cosmic Ghost Rider. 

 

 

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2

The Cosmic Ghost Rider Frank Castle is back in space and doing what he does best: dropping one-liners and delivering vengeance on a warm platter. With his newfound friend Cammi Benally in tow, the two set across the cosmos snuffing out baddies in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2. But so much killing doesn’t go unnoticed, especially when it is interrupting business. The Cosmic Kingpin has his fingers in a bit of everything across the galaxy: drug dealing, arms trading, slave trafficking! You name it, he has his dirty hands in it. Now Frank Castle is hurting his bottom line and he aims to put a stop to it; maybe by getting the only thing that can hurt the Cosmic Ghost Rider…his soul.

Writing

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 (Marvel Comics) cover art by Ron Lim
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 (Marvel Comics) cover art by Ron Lim

I mentioned this in my review of the first issue of this five-issue mini-series, but I was a little burnt out on the whole Cosmic Ghost Rider character. He started popping up everywhere and some of the writing for him wasn’t particularly good. I was not even really planning on picking up this series, but I am super happy I did. Dennis Hallum is doing some great work. In Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 he does a smashing job of doing the work to get us invested in these characters and story.

What I really enjoy is the addition of Cammi Benally. Instead of just following Frank around we get a different perspective from her. It also adds a new dynamic to the character to have this type of “sidekick” with him. Hallum also does a great job of making a connection with Cammi and Frank in a short amount of time.

There is not a ton of time in a five-issue mini-series but Hallum does a swell job of pacing this second issue. The story gets pushed forward but we are given time to “sit” with these characters and get to know them. He has also done a delightful job in building up the Cosmic Kingpin character into a legit threat to the all-powerful Cosmic Ghost Rider. He is a physically imposing foe, but he has a cunning and cerebral type attack that makes him feel dangerous as well.

Art

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 continues to boast the talents of artist Scott Hepburn and colorist Antonio Fabela. Hepburn’s cartooning fits perfectly with the series. His style has that delightful mixture of a realistic yet animated feeling. It is full of energy and has a wonderful vibrancy to it.

Hepburn also gets to unleash all types of imagination across Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 with his character designs. As Frank makes his way through different baddies we get to see all types of lovely alien characters and locations. Full of brilliant, odd-looking aliens and just remarkable detail. He also has fantastic character acting as well. Adding great emotional tension to scenes with his work.

I love, love, love Antonio Fabela’s coloring work. I am always excited when I see his name on a book as he never seems to disappoint. That holds true in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2. Just some truly mesmerizing coloring work going on throughout the issue. It is bright, but also dark and just adds to the exuberance of the whole issue. It also just locks in that serious yet goofy tone that is key for the series.

Conclusion

If you like the Cosmic Ghost Rider character but were growing a bit weary of him, then this is the series to pick up to get back into his story. Dennis Hallum does a fantastic job of catching the tone of the character. He is wild, wacky and crazy, but he catches that dark undertone, as well. The art by Hepburn and Fabela is wonderful to look at and is some great visual storytelling in its own right.

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2 slows the story down a bit and lets us connect with the characters. Things seem to be going swell for the new dynamic duo. But the Cosmic Kingpin won’t let them continue for long and he has a plan to stop the Cosmic Ghost Rider and it is not very nice!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png

WOTN on Instagram

  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
%d bloggers like this: