Reviews

Review – Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4 (Marvel Comics)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4 (Marvel Comics) variant cover (detail) by Logan Lubera
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4

Writer: Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum
Artist: Scott Hepburn
Colorist: Antonio Fabela
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Release Date: March 25, 2019

Cammi tossed into a black hole, Frank getting his soul back…what else could happen in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider?

 

 

What Is a Soul Worth in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4

The penultimate issue is here in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4. We have been on a wild trip as Frank has made a new friend in Cammi on the road across the galaxy snuffing out baddies. The Cosmic King, whose business had picked up substantially since Thanos’s demise, caught wind of this. Cosmic Ghost Rider was hurting his bottom line, so he had to put a stop to it. But how do you stop a creature that not only has the power of Hell’s Avenger, the Ghost Rider, but also the power of Galactus’s herald? Well, you offer him the one thing he doesn’t have: his mortal soul! Frank took the deal; now, with his soul intact, what will happen? Cammi has been thrown into a black hole, but she is too stubborn to die, and it might be time for her to save the day.

Writing

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Scott Hepburn
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4 (Marvel Comics) main cover by Scott Hepburn

I have been enjoying this little mini-series from Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum. Cosmic Ghost Rider was getting a little bit long in the tooth as a character, for me, and Hallum injected some life into him. I have also been loving the team-up of him and Cammi. They have been written great together by Hallum. All that being said, the middle of this issue lost me a bit.

In Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4, we find Cammi in a tough spot. I can’t go into much detail without spoiling it, but It is an interesting little plot device that brings her back. It is just the kind of middle part about how the Cosmic King becomes so powerful just seems a bit odd or very random. You will know what I am talking about when you see it.

So the middle part of the issue lost me a bit just because it felt so random. The rest of the issue continued to be as delightful as the previous issues. This issue is a lot more Cammi-centric, and Hallum continues to write her exceptionally well. I liked the ending too; it had a nice twist I was not expecting. It has me interested in how all this will wrap up.

Art

I am always excited to see Scott Hepburn‘s art on the page; it is a wildly fun, animated style, and he delivers throughout Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4. Hepburn gets a nice two-page spread in the issue, and it looks great. I love how he plays with the sequence, letting the story unfold overtop of Cammi as she floats in the middle.

Hepburn also gets to continue to play with some different character designs. He has gotten to do a lot of different alien creatures throughout the series and he continues to display his fantastic imagination with characters in this issue. 

Antonio Fabela is one of my favorite colorists, and he also continues to shine in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4.  He has a beautiful brighter-toned style that works so well with Hepburn’s art and the story of this series. I love when he gets to color Cammi’s mask in space. Something about that green mask just makes it pop!

Conclusion

Another adventure of the Cosmic Ghost Rider is almost in the books, but could this be his last? Cammi comes to the rescue, but is it a bit too late for our heroes? The Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider has been a fun ride. While at first I wasn’t excited about it, after the first issue it turned into something I couldn’t wait to pick up. That continues into Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4. The second-to-last issue adds in a few twists and turns you will not be expecting, and will have you questioning how all this will be solved.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: