Reviews

Review – Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 (Marvel Comics)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5

Writer: Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum
Artist: Scott Hepburn
Colorist: Antonio Fablea
Letterer: Travis Lanham
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: June 3, 2020

The final issue of Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider is here. Frank has his soul back, but making a deal with the devil is never a good idea (you’d think he would learn). Now Mephisto has taken Cammi’s soul and it is up to Frank Castle, the Cosmic Punisher, to somehow save her from the devil’s grip.

 

“Dead Souls” Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5

It is time for the tale of Cammi and Frank Castle to wrap up in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5. Previously (issue #4 was 2 months ago), Frank Castle, the ever-loving wild-eyed Cosmic Ghost Rider, defeated the Cosmic King and fulfilled yet another deal with the devil Mephisto. Frank finally got his soul back. But, as always, deals with the devil do not come without a price. That price just so happens to be Cammi’s soul!

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 (Marvel Comics) cover by Scott Hepburn
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 (Marvel Comics) cover by Scott Hepburn

Frank got back what he had lost for eons in exchange to be the Ghost Rider. Now no longer a “Rider”, Frank can live “normally” with his soul intact and the Power Cosmic. But the Punisher can’t let an innocent soul and friend, Cammi, just die. So, he is off to “hell” once again to set things right. But is another deal with the devil the right decision for Frank Castle and Cammi?

Writing

Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum turned me back onto the Cosmic Ghost Rider character with this series. Teaming him up with Cammi and giving him a bit more of a “heart” has turned him around. He was getting a little over-obnoxious, but Hallum seems to have found a good common ground for the character, much like Donny Cates.

As previously noted, Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 is the final issue in this mini-series. I will dance around the ending of the issue as not to spoil anything. But I am leaning both ways with it. There are things I liked about it and didn’t like. First, it definitely did not end the way I was expecting. I like that it was kind of a surprise on how Hallum ended Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5. It is kind of shocking and leaves it open for something else to come after it.

I don’t really like it, either, and this is kind of hard to talk about without spoiling anything. So, very vaguely, I just feel we are not going to get a resolution to this story. It is very open-ended and some big things happen for a character that I don’t know if we will ever get an answer to.

So, basically two sides to the same coin. It is a wild ending that is pretty crazy and shocking. That, I liked, but it is very open-ended, and not knowing if we will get a resolution to this ending is a bit frustrating at the same time.

Art

Scott Hepburn has done a heck of a job throughout this series and he continues to shine in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5. His wild, energetic style continues to bleed through the pages and fits perfectly for the story in this series. I mean, we get Cosmic Punisher riding a “hell horse” in this issue! 

Hepburn continues to do some delightfully fantastic facial expressions. They are a little exaggerated but they work well, showing off the characters’ emotions. There is a great panel of Frank, after losing the Ghost Rider power, being burned by hellfire. Hepburn does a great job of showing Frank actually feeling pain for the first time in a very long time.

I think my favorite thing, visually, in Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 is the Power Cosmic Punisher. Basically, Frank lost the Ghost Rider powers but he still has the Power Cosmic. So, there are some great scenes with his body basically blacked out except for his white skull chest symbol and purple glowing head, hands, and feet. It is an amazing visual.

A lot of that has to do with colorist Antonio Fabela‘s work. He always does a stunning job, but that piece takes the cake. From the blacked-out body to the white skull and the mesmerizing purple cosmic power, Fabela captures it stunningly well.

Conclusion

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 somewhat sticks the landing for the end of the series for me. It is a good ending that will shock you and you will not see coming. It sets up perfectly for another series. The problem is whether we will get that series or not. Will we get answers to the questions that the end of this issue leaves us with? Or will this be another one of those comic book stories that is never wrapped up, or explained away really quickly when another creator decides to use one of these characters?

But at the end of the day, this has been a good series. Tons of fun and some great art. If you have been following the adventures of Cosmic Ghost Rider and Cammi you are definitely going to want to pick this up.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: