Uncategorized

Review – Seven to Eternity #10 (Image Comics)

Seven to Eternity #10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 9.8/10
    9.8/10
  • Overall - 9.3/10
    9.3/10

Summary

Writer: Rick Remender
Artist: Jerome Opeña
Colorist: Matt Hollingsworth
Letterer: Rus Wooton
Maturity Rating: Mature
Publisher: Image Comics
Release: August 1, 2018

The gray area of good and bad continues to be explored in Seven to Eternity #10.

Overall
9.3/10
9.3/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Gray Areas in Seven to Eternity #10

It has been about a year since Seven to Eternity #9 was released; that is a long time. Well, you know what they say: “absence makes the heart grow fonder.” It certainly does; it also makes it really hard to remember what was happening in a complex story. Basically, we are still with Adam and the Mud King, traveling to the healing springs of Zhal. Adam has betrayed his father and taken the Mud King’s offer to heal him of the disease that is taking his life. Meanwhile, his daughter and the remaining Mosiak Knights are still tracking the Mud King down. They want to make good on their promise of ridding Zhal of him once and for all. In a nutshell, that is where we are at in Seven to Eternity #10.

Writing

Seven to Eternity #10 (Image Comics) cover A by Jerome Opena
Cover A by Jerome Opena

I won’t lie; after a year away from this world, I was very confused at points while reading Seven to Eternity #10, even with the slight recap at the beginning. Certain places or people would be mentioned and I had no clue who the characters were talking about. That is obviously the most frustrating part about this issue. Not being able to recall some key details previously mentioned. Some things did start to slowly come back to me after a while. Other things I had to go look up to remember what they were all about. I’m looking at you, creature that feeds gold coins to his frog.

All of that being said, the main basic plot is still there and is easy to come back to, and Rick Remender continues to do an incredible job of exploring issues and choices that are not as “black and white” as they seem. Remender does a fantastic job of exploring that gray area of life or decisions in Seven to Eternity #10. He gives everyone a voice and a reason for their actions. It makes for an intriguing story, as when we learn more about “the bad” guy and “the good” guys and their decisions that brought them on their paths are very muddied. Some seem “good” and others seem “bad” and it’s all in the context of what happened in their lives.

Remender has done a superb job with every character in this series so far and that continues in Seven to Eternity #10. We continue to explore the mind of Adam and his decision. How now he is helping the one guy he swore to never bow down to. Remender is exploring a ton of morality themes and concepts swept up in this fantastical sci-fi world. Each character has their own life and motivation and we get to explore everybody’s point of view.

Art

When you hear a book has been on hiatus for a year you think “man, a year, what took so long?” Then you look at Jerome Opeña‘s art and you immediately understand. Opeña comes back to the comic book world with a vengeance in Seven to Eternity #10. The amount of detail and world-building he does is just absolutely incredible. Each page and panel is just filled to the brim with spectacular artwork. The first pages of Seven to Eternity #10 starts with a giant “gill-man” type creature rising from the depths in stunning detail, with mountains and trees in the background. It immediately reminds you why Jerome Opeña is one of the best in the business. It is also part of what makes Seven to Eternity so special.

Matt Hollingsworth continues his wonderful exploration of colors in Seven to Eternity #10. He adds a variety of colorations throughout this issue that is simply stunning. Seven to Eternity #10 continues to have a variety of locations, characters, and creatures that Hollingsworth gets to use a wealth of different color variations on.

Talking about all the character creatures and locations in Seven to Eternity #10. I am not sure who gets credited with coming up with all these weird things. I would imagine it would be a combination of Remender and Opeña but my gosh, there are just some wonderfully strange new creatures and landscapes that pop up in this issue.

Conclusion

Everybody will probably have the same issues as me with Seven to Eternity #10. With the long layoff, some plot details and characters are very hard to remember. That is really, for me, the only downfall of this issue. The “core” of the series is still very easy to get back into and Remender continues to explore some very in-depth more psychological themes with this series. The art by Jerome Opeña and Matt Hollingsworth is well worth the wait and it is as beautiful as ever. Here is hoping Jerome Opeña used the year to get a lot of issues in the bag ready for print, because I need more of this comic book in my life!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

WOTN on Instagram

  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • 160x600
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
%d bloggers like this: