Reviews

Review – Seven to Eternity #14 (Image Comics)

Seven to Eternity #14 (Image Comics) cover A (detail) by Jerome Opena and Matt Hollingsworth
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Overall - 9.2/10
    9.2/10

Seven to Eternity #14

Writer: Rick Remender
Artist: Jerome Opeña
Colorist: Matt Hollingsworth
Letterer: Rus Wooton
Maturity Rating: Mature
Publisher: Image Comics
Release Date: November 18, 2020

At the Springs of Zhal, The Mud King has promised healing to Adam. Through their journey there have been many sacrifices and death. Will it be all worth it in the end for Adam?

Overall
9.2/10
9.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Lost in Translation” Seven to Eternity #14

It is time to head back into the world of Zhal in Seven to Eternity #14. It has been quite a long time since the last issue, and longer than that since I have reviewed an issue of this series. The last issue I reviewed was issue #10, about a year and a half ago. But the series is known to take these long extended breaks so, nothing new. Plus Seven to Eternity #14 is the start to the final act for the series, so we are in for a wild ride to the end.

Seven to Eternity #14 (Image Comics) cover B by Julian Totino Tedesco
Seven to Eternity #14 (Image Comics) cover B by Julian Totino Tedesco

We are once again with Adam and Garils Sulm, aka The Mud King or “the God of Whispers”. They finally make it to the Springs of Zhal. The whisper that changed Adam’s mind and plan about the Mud King. He promised healing to Adam from his wasting disease. The whisper made Adam betray everything he thought and believed in. Now, at the fabled place, what else must Adam sacrifice, or does he have anything left?

Writing

Again probably the hardest thing about this series is the long layoffs. The creators know that and the readers know that. With so much going on it is a bit hard to remember and to get back into the series at times. Rick Remender does do a solid job of getting the book on track from the jump. We get a one-page refresher where Remender gives us the most basic details to jog your memory. It also helps that Seven to Eternity #14 only deals with Adam and The Mud King. You do not really have to worry about any of the other characters or happenings.

It also helps that the relationship between Adam and The Mud King has been the strongest point of the book. Remender continues to play with the two perfectly. The way he intertwines their words and values makes for a wholly intriguing dynamic between the two. 

I do find myself still getting lost within the world of Seven to Eternity. At times it is hard to keep focused on what is important and why everything is happening. I believe that is the biggest struggle of the book and the series, to maintain that focus on what is exactly important to the story.

The strongest point for Seven to Eternity and for the series as a whole is, Remender makes you think. Everything a character says has a point and, whether good or bad, you can question yourself about it. Remender does a fantastic job of having this series live in the “gray” areas. What is right and what is wrong? What choices would you really make in certain situations and circumstances? Remender continues to make me think about this series/story long after I put it down.

Art

It is always a sight for sore eyes to see some stunning Jerome Opeña art. We get to feast once again on some stunning visuals in Seven to Eternity #14. Nothing really much else to say that I haven’t already said about Opeña’s art. Continued delightful detail, and just fantastic imagery throughout the issue.

One thing that I may have failed to previously mention about Opeña’s work is wonderful landscapes and world-building. He does a superb job of bringing the whole world of Seven to Eternity to life. Great scenery brings the whole environment to life around the characters, fully engulfing you in this world.

Matt Hollingsworth once again also proves to be one of, if not the best colorist in the comic book game right now. Same as with Opeña: I am hard-pressed to find anything that I haven’t already said. Just stunning coloring work through this issue and series. I am always fascinated to see what Hollingsworth does with each and every issue.

If you read my reviews you know Rus Wooton is probably my favorite letterer in comics. Usually, I see him in a more bombastic way in Daniel Warren Johnson’s work, but he has a nice, more subtle touch in Seven to Eternity #14. In a book that has a lot to do with whispers and the power of suggestion, the lettering style speaks words. 

Conclusion

Seven to Eternity is back and looking to close out the series with only three more issues to go! Remender starts off Seven to Eternity #14 strong, focusing on Adam and The Mud King as they finally make it to their destination. The art continues to be stunningly beautiful and a visual pleasure. As the series starts to wind down, will Adam finally find what he is looking for, and what will be the fate of Zhal?


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Leave a Reply

WOTN on Instagram

  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • 160x600
%d bloggers like this: