Reviews

Review – Spencer & Locke 2 #2 (Action Lab)

Spencer & Locke 2 #2
Overall
9.7/10
9.7/10
  • Writing - 9.7/10
    9.7/10
  • Art - 9.8/10
    9.8/10
  • Overall - 9.7/10
    9.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: David Pepose
Artist: Jorge Santiago Jr.
Colorist: Jasen Smith
Letterer: Colin Bell
Publisher: Action Lab Comics
Release Date: May 29, 2019

Spencer and Locke pick up right after the previous issue, trying to find Roach Riley, while struggling with the lack of support from their fellow officers and protecting Locke’s daughter, Hero, from his past mistakes. Can they stop the bad guy, save themselves, and Hero?

Collateral Damage with Spencer & Locke 2 #2

Oh boy, they’re back at it again. That’s right, Spencer and Locke are locked and loaded for Spencer & Locke 2 #2. The dream team of David Pepose, Jorge Santiago Jr., Jasen Smith, and Colin Bell bring another amazing issue. Spencer and Locke pick up right after the previous issue, trying to find Roach Riley, while struggling with the lack of support from their fellow officers and protecting Locke’s daughter, Hero, from his past mistakes. Can they stop the bad guy, save themselves, and Hero?

Now, before I get into this review, I think it’s only right for me to disclose how big of a fan I am of this series. Like I said in my preview of the new volume: I didn’t know I needed this type of comic in my life.

With that said and with my dreams of this comic becoming a television series—and yes, I’d love to be the coffee boy on the set—let’s just jump into it, and no spoilers here! Go read it, it’s totally worth it!

Writing

Spencer and Locke 2 #2( Action Lab) cover by Jorge Santiago Jr
Spencer and Locke 2 #2( Action Lab) cover by Jorge Santiago Jr

Where do I start? I mean, David Pepose’s story still feels as consistent as ever. The noir feel, mixed with buddy-cop style action and Calvin and Hobbes-ish backstory, continues to build out this world. Every panel is filled with depth in the thoughts that run through Locke’s head during each scene, giving you an interesting insight into the character. It’s a story within a story. The entire comic itself is a story within a story within a story. Each one builds upon the other to flesh out the story to its fullest.

Very few comics do I go back to certain panels to re-read and have that build a deeper understanding of a character. It’s not just looking into what the character is thinking, but it feels more like a look into his psyche and understanding why Locke is this way and why Spencer is so important to him. With this villain, Roach, we get the same treatment.

In a way, this series to me feels a lot like some of the great Batman comics. Really testing the reader’s understanding of the character and if their morals are just within the actions the characters are choosing.

Art

Honestly, I don’t think I could imagine this comic without the amazing art from Jorge Santiago, Jr. Every panel just draws me into this world (and yes, the pun was intended). Very few comics I’ve read could I see what the characters were feeling or they were over-dramatized in their reactions, but Jorge is subtle with his work and it cuts through the page. 

The slight wrinkle in Spencer’s face when he’s worried about Locke. When Locke gazes at his daughter and you see the love he has for her. The moments of fear the characters have that read perfectly.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but when the bits of old Calvin and Hobbes style art is put in the story, it supports the writing of the characters and story like few comics do. 

Conclusion

Like I said, it’s probably so unfair for me to review this because every panel is perfect. This team of Pepose, Santiago, Smith, and Bell is peak comic book to me. They are creating something special that I feel not enough people are looking at.

This is the kind of art that drives me to create. Makes me want to write comics, films, television, stories, and anything and everything in between.

I think I’m at a loss for words, so let me leave you with one last thing. GO READ THIS COMIC NOW! Love you all, and sorry for yelling at you, but honestly, I think this is a comic that deserves all the attention and all the praise.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Shane Miosi

Shane Miosi is a nerd through and through based out of good ole' Dallas, Texas. If he's not writing he's making videos and podcast just for the fun of it.

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: