Reviews

Review – Strange Academy #7 (Marvel Comics)

Strange Academy #7 (Marvel Comics) main cover (detail) by Humberto Ramos
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.9/10
    8.9/10
  • Overall - 8.9/10
    8.9/10

Strange Academy #7

Writer: Skottie Young 
Artist: Humberto Ramos
Colorist: Edgar Delgado
Letterer: Clayton Cowles
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: January 27, 2021

The kids of the Strange Academy learn that magic isn’t all fun and games as two of their own have fallen in the battle against the Hollow.

Overall
8.9/10
8.9/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Loss of Innocence” Strange Academy #7

The kids of the Marvel Universe’s first premier magical academy have been having a grand old time. Meeting new friends, learning to use their magical abilities. Magic has been an exciting, joyous time for these kids. That was until they met the Hollow. The ancient group wasn’t excited about what was happening at the Strange Academy. Fighting to save one of their own against the Hollow, the kids of the Strange Academy put their new skills to use. But they quickly learn that things are not always fun and games. Two children cling to life in Strange Academy #7.

Writing

Strange Academy #7 (Marvel Comics) character spotlight variant cover by Art Adams
Strange Academy #7 (Marvel Comics) character spotlight variant cover by Art Adams

Strange Academy #7 is by far my favorite issue of the series. The other issues have been tons of fun and I have enjoyed them, but this dose of seriousness and Skottie Young‘s dramatic storytelling make this issue stand out. What a tremendously emotional issue. Young gets to the heart of some characters in this issue and it has some truly standout moments in it. It is not a “high action” issue but it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I believe the smaller cast of characters focused on in Strange Academy #7 is a strong point. It allows for Young to get more intimate with the characters and learn more about them. That had been a previous complaint of mine, that there were just too many new characters, that no one got a chance to shine. Young has started to fix that and the characters a great in this issue.

I was very surprised at how attached and invested I was in this issue. Like, I previously stated I have been enjoying the series, but I wasn’t wholly captivated by it yet either, well, besides the concept. Young changed that with some truly dramatic and heartfelt storytelling in this issue.

Art

The standout for the series has been the art by Humberto Ramos and colors by Edgar Delgado. They have shined tremendously well in this fun-filled series full of youth and vigor. Ramos excels in Strange Academy #7, showing off a great range of emotions in these characters. From anger, sadness, and despair, Ramos captures it all tremendously well. When I think of Ramos’s art I think of those youthful, energy-filled panels and pages. But he shows he can bring the dramatics as well.

Also, some just wonderful pages full of stunning detail. There is a beautiful two-page spread in Strange Academy #7 that takes the cake. I won’t spoil it but, my gosh, it is fantastic. From the way Ramos frames and details it, to Delgado’s vast array of stunning colors, it is a great piece of artwork and storytelling.

Delgado’s colors also continue to be fantastic. I love the almost chalky, textured feel he gives the series. But also, when things get a little wild in this issue, he adds a stunning visual display of colorations.

Conclusion

I would say if you have been a little bit on the fence with this series then Strange Academy #7 should get you to stick around for a lot longer. I know it has certainly sold me on the series. Fantastic character work from Skottie Young. The issue is extremely emotional and gets you to the heart of some of these characters. As always, the art is fantastic and fits perfectly for this series.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews, and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

WOTN on Instagram

  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=hitlist.asp?spotlight=99&eeshop=&collect=VINYL+FIGURES&theme=&company=Funko
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • AirTurn DIGIT III : Hand Held Bluetooth Wireless Remote Control for Tablets
  • Shop Big Moods at Fathead.com!
  • Shop TheTileApp.com Today!
  • 160x600
%d bloggers like this: