Books

Review – The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis

Charlotte Nicole Davis - The Good Luck Girls cropped for featured image
The Good Luck Girls
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 9/10
    9/10
  • Development - 8/10
    8/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Author: Charlotte Nicole Davis
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
352
Description:

Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

The Good Luck Girls mashes together The Handmaid’s Tale and Westworld in the best of ways. It’s a fantasy dystopian novel, in which the Good Luck Girls are anything but.

 

The Good Luck Girls

The Good Luck Girls is the first in an all-new series by Charlotte Nicole Davis. It’s a dark and beautifully-written novel, one full of strife and character development. It’s a dystopian fantasy novel, one that is perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale or Westworld.

In a world where slavery is common, there exists a system of welcome houses. These houses sell time with women—whom they call Good Luck Girls. In this world, five Good Luck Girls have taken it upon themselves to run away in an attempt to change their fates. But nothing is ever as simple as it seems. For one thing, our girls don’t have a choice but to run. For another, their magical tattoos will give them away to any who even bother to glance at their faces. But they’ve got to try.

Charlotte Nicole Davis - The Good Luck GirlsWhat follows is a dark but emotionally compelling tale, as our girls learn how to survive in the wilds. And how to strike back. If you’re looking for a fantasy series that provides a character-driven plot, then this is one worth checking out.

Writing

Charlotte Nicole Davis did an excellent job of writing a novel that was tense and emotionally compelling. It’s impossible not to see these girls in such a situation and not root for them. And she introduced them in such a way that their world and situation were immediately apparent.

The world of The Good Luck Girls is a fascinating one. It may be on the dark side, but I found myself desperate to see more of the world. More accurately, I found the hope written within the pages—hope for a better world. I found myself grasping at that, and hoping that later novels would show us the world slowly getting better.

The characters were fascinating and dynamic. Admittedly, not all of the five Good Luck Girls got as much attention as others. Aster and her sister, Clementine, got the most attention. But everybody else had enough for us to have a basic understanding of their desire to be free.

The Good Luck Girls is a perfect novel for anybody seeking a tale of women overcoming adversity. It also has a touch of wild west and survivalism in it, along with dozens of other elements. It’s one of the many reasons it was such an interesting read.

Development

The Good Luck Girls wasted no time in throwing us into the thick of things. Right away we were introduced to the main characters and their world—as small and dark as it may have been. It doesn’t take long for the main event to occur, one that forces them to change their lives forever.

From there the pace is a bit more leisurely. It picks up as needed, but it also gives us a chance to get to know the characters that make up this tale. Each girl has a different past that resulted in her getting sent to a welcome house. And each girl has her own reason for wanting to be free. Some of their stories were more complex than others, and trying to figure out how it all tied together made for something much more complex than you might expect.

Davis did a good job of making many of the twists unpredictable. Other moments one could see coming, but only in the broadest sense. That’s because the decisions made fit the characters we had spent an entire novel getting to know.

Conclusion

The Good Luck Girls was an intense yet brilliant read. These girls are a strong reminder than one can face so much, yet still hold onto the hope for more. Their tale was a fascinating one, and since we know that this was only the first novel in a series, we know it has only just begun.

For more Word of the Nerd book news, reviews, and reading lists, click here.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Leave a Reply

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: