Reviews

Review – The Hereby Dragons #1 (Blue Fox Comics)

The Herebey Dragons #1 Artist: Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak
The Herebey Dragons #1 Artist: Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak
The Hereby Dragons #1
Overall
7.6/10
7.6/10
  • Writing - 7.7/10
    7.7/10
  • Art - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Overall - 7.6/10
    7.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Simon Birks
Artist: Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak
Letterer: Lyndon White
Maturity Rating: 7+
Publisher: Blue Fox Comics
Release: Kickstarter goes live July 26, 2018

Bobby learns that his family has kept dragons at bay for over a thousand years in The Hereby Dragons #1.

Trust No One in The Hereby Dragons #1

In the late 1970’s Bobby thinks he is just running errands with his mother. Bobby, bored and hungry, is growing weary of these mundane tasks. The antique store is the last place he wants to be. Nothing exciting ever happens in an antique store.  That is until some crystals start talking to him! In The Hereby Dragons #1, we are thrown into a world where dragons have been banished for over a thousand years and it is Bobby’s family who keeps them gone! Bobby soon finds out his family’s secret and things spiral out of control. Who does he trust? His mom has kept many secrets from him and who is this man that took the crystals/prisms that kept the dragons locked away?

Writing

Simon Birks weaves a delightful tale in The Hereby Dragons #1. An older and presumably wiser Bobby narrates us through the events of the first issue. The Hereby Dragons #1 is set in the 1970’s and everything is just like our world except when Bobby obviously finds out that dragons happen to actually exist. It is a classic start to an all-ages story. With our young protagonist generally being bored and then something happens and his world is turned upside down.

The Herebey Dragons #1
The Herebey Dragons #1

I like the mystery Birks adds in throughout The Hereby Dragons #1. From the narration from the older Bobby to the way his mom and other characters act you really do not know who to trust. We are not really sure whose best interest is at heart. It adds an interesting layer to the story that builds suspense.

The only major downfall of the story would be that we do not learn much about our main character, Bobby. We are swept up in this world and he does not get that much development in this first issue. Which is not too much of a major issue. It is the first issue and only 24 pages so you can only do so much. 

Art

Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak serves up the art in The Hereby Dragons #1. I get a very nostalgic feel with Eda’s art. With the exaggerated character proportions and loose line style. For some reason, The Hereby Dragons harkens me back to visuals of storybooks in my past. The coloring works nicely with the nostalgic feel as well. It is very flat with lots of browns, whites, and monotone color schemes. That is until the dragons and our crystal/prisms are shown and then Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak throws in some psychedelic blues, purples, and greens that explode off the pages. It is a fantastic look for this series and fits the premise and tone of the story superbly well.

The only major issue with the art is that the characters feel very stiff. There is no real animation or movement to them. Which I guess plays more into that storybook feel I was talking about previously.  But as sequential art, it lacks that movement to it. It is very static from panel to panel.

I was surprised at how much detail Eda Çağıl Çağlarırmak was able to fit into The Hereby Dragons #1. The close-up shots of characters faces are wonderfully illustrated and there is a lot of background detail throughout the issue. You know I am a stickler for background detail and Eda does a good job of bringing this world to life.

Conclusion

The Hereby Dragons #1 is a stellar all-ages book and a great start to the series. It has a nice “hook” with a boy discovering dragons, but the mystery of who does he trust has me intrigued! The art has a nice nostalgic feel that encompasses the story well and produces a pretty fierce looking dragon. If you are apprehensive about backing a Kickstarter comic I can personally say Blue Fox Comics is legit. I have backed their books before and they deliver on their promises with some fantastic extras and a beautiful looking product. If you are looking for a good all-ages comic book than look no further than The Hereby Dragons #1. The Kickstarter will go live on Thursday, July 26, 2018. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

Social Media logo FacebookSocial Media logo TwitterSocial Media logo TumblrSocial Media logo InstagramSocial Media logo YouTubeSocial Media logo PinterestSocial Media logo Google Plus

Social Media logo Twitch

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: