Books

Review – The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Book Title: The Kinder Poison

Book Description: “Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Zahru has long dreamed of leaving the kingdom of Orkena and having the kinds of adventures she’s only ever heard about in stories. But as a lowly Whisperer, her power to commune with animals means that her place is serving in the royal stables until the day her magic runs dry. All that changes when the ailing ruler invokes the Crossing: a death-defying race across the desert, in which the first of his heirs to finish—and take the life of a human sacrifice at the journey’s end—will ascend to the throne and be granted unparalleled abilities. With all of the kingdom abuzz, Zahru leaps at the chance to change her fate if just for a night by sneaking into the palace for a taste of the revelry. But the minor indiscretion turns into a deadly mistake when she gets caught up in a feud between the heirs and is forced to become the Crossing’s human sacrifice. Zahru is left with only one hope for survival: somehow figuring out how to overcome the most dangerous people in the world.”

Book Author: Natalie Mae

Book Format: Hardcover

Publisher Logo:

Date published: 2020-06-16

Number Of Pages: 416

Overall
8/10
8/10
  • Writing - 8/10
    8/10
  • Development - 8/10
    8/10
  • Overall - 8/10
    8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

The Kinder Poison is the first novel in a series of the same name, by debut author Natalie Mae. It follows Zahru on the adventure she thought she always wanted – and the shocking impact that her story brings with it

 

A Magical Journey Begins In The Kinder Poison

 

The Kinder Poison is the debut novel of Natalie Mae. It is a novel that has been marketed as perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black. Naturally, that’s enough to get the attention of many a fan, and with good reason.

It’s the first novel in a series of the same name, and it introduces fans to a world of magic and politics. Zahru is a girl who always dreamed of an adventure, but when she finally found herself neck-deep in one, it was nothing like what she imagined. Still, she’s the right girl for the job. She better be, for the fate of Orkena will rest on her shoulders, alongside the friends and allies she makes on this strange and magical journey.

I’m a fan of both authors that Natalie Mae’s writing is being compared to here, and I think it’s a favorable comparison. Though there’s no doubt that she has her spin as well, something I consider to be a positive rather than a negative.

 

Writing

The Kinder Poison is a thrilling and exciting read, from start to finish. Right from the start, it’s clear that this is a world of magic, with so much to offer. There’s a lot to love and appreciate about this series already, and I can see the following growth.

The characters are bold and bright. Zahru is arguably one of the most compassionate characters portrayed in quite some time. At least, that is how it felt while reading The Kinder Poison. She’s strong and caring, and the two traits live in harmony. It’s beautiful to see.

Meanwhile, the worldbuilding will leave you breathless. There are traditions and culture in Orkana, as well as strife and conflict. There’s also this hint that there’s even more to the world, something that I’m sure will be further explored in future novels.

On the whole, I enjoyed Natalie Mae’s writing style. I’m looking forward to the rest of this series, as well as simply seeing anything else she’s going to come up with in the future.

 

Development

The Kinder Poison is a fast-paced and fun read. It felt like I had just sat down to read when I suddenly realized I had finished the book. It is not one you’re going to want to put down, to leave yourself a bit of time to read here.

There are a lot of positive things I could say about this novel, but it’s the character development that shines the brightest of all. Zahru’s plot arc is beautiful and compelling, but what makes it more impressive is how it weaves throughout the secondary characters and their personal growth.

All of it tied together into something fascinating and complex. I honestly don’t think this novel would have been the same without those elements. Yet it was flawlessly done here, showcasing what careful character development can do to a story.

 

Conclusion

The Kinder Poison was a whirlwind of a read, one that I thoroughly enjoyed. It was so refreshing to dive into a fantasy world such as this, and I’m looking forward to more adventures like it.

It’s been a few days since I finished this read, and I’m still reeling from the ending. That shows how much this book got into my head, despite the short period. I imagine I’m not going to be the only one feeling that way.

 

 

 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comic book

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Cat Wyatt

Cat Wyatt is an avid comic book reader, as well as a reader of novels. Her favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy, though she's usually willing to try other genres as well. Cat collects Funko Pop figures, Harry Potter books (different editions), and has more bookshelves than she's willing to admit.

Leave a Reply

  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: