Reviews

Review – TMNT #106 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT #106
Overall
7.8/10
7.8/10
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

TMNT #106

Story Consulting: Kevin Eastman and Tom Waltz

Story: Sophie Campbell

Script: Ronda Pattison

Artist: Nelson Daniel

Colorist: Ronda Pattison

Letterer: Shawn Lee

Maturity Rating: Teen

Publisher: IDW Publishing

Release: July 15, 2020

Baxter Stockman talks to the public about the new “mutant crisis” as inside the walls of Mutant Town Citizens go missing.

 

“Urban Legends” TMNT #106

 

The New Splinter Clan is in full force in Mutant Town in TMNT #106. The gang is helping out the community and coming together as a family once again. But something strange is happening in Mutant Town, citizens are going missing and a new scary rumor is spreading. Kids are saying a slimy creature is kidnapping people, but this can’t possibly be true right? On the outside of Mutant Town Baxter Stockman discusses what he is doing about the sudden influx of Mutants and his plans for Mutant Town.

A new era for the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles starts in TMNT #106 as the Splinter Clan has formed. Leonardo, Raphael, Michelangelo, and Donatello are joined by Jennika and Alopex to help protect and serve Mutant Town. As we continue to explore and learn about Mutant Town we start to learn what is happening outside the quarantined city and what the rest of the world thinks about this change in the world.

Writing

TMNT #106 Sophie Campbell (Author) Nelson Daniel (Artist, Cover Artist)
TMNT #106 Sophie Campbell (Author) Nelson Daniel (Artist, Cover Artist)

TMNT #106 takes us into this brave new world of Mutant Town and the Splinter Clan an official new start to IDW’s TMNT lore. Sophie Campbell continues to guide us on this new exciting journey into the lives of the mutated turtle brothers. Campbell did a great job in the previous arc of setting up the new status quo of Mutant Town and the Splinter Clan. She brought us through the highs and lows and now in TMNT #106 things are back to business.

One thing I loved about TMNT #106 is we get a slight glimpse into what is happening outside of Mutant Town and the lives of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. We get a look at Baxter Stockman’s mayoral government plan. And possibly what the citizens think of this town full of mutants. The last arc focused mainly on the emotional state of the group and setting up a new normal, which is needed to do. But this look into the outside world was needed and felt like a bit of fresh air.

The story did move pretty quickly in TMNT #106. We mainly get a lot of set up for things to come. We get glimpses of how the family is adapting to their new lives and this set up of missing citizens inside a mutant town. It is nice to see Ronda Pattison getting script credits for TMNT #106. She has done some backup stories in the Jennika mini-series so it is exciting to see her on the main series besides coloring.

Art

Sadly with the end of the last story arc was the end of Sophie Campbell’s art tenure on TMNT. That is nothing new as IDW’s TMNT switches out artist every story arc usually, but Campbell always does an exceptional job so it will be missed. Nelson Daniel jumps on board with TMNT #106 with big shoes to fill. 

Daniel has a very animated style that is not un-similar to Sophie Campbell’s style which isn’t an issue either way but at times it can be shocking when the art style changes dramatically from one issue to the next. Overall I dug Daniel’s work throughout TMNT #106. He gets great detail and character action without a ton of line work. It almost has a minimalist/comic strip type feel to it. TMNT #106 almost feels like a throwback to the Archie comic book days of TMNT. Ronda Pattison once again does an excellent job on colors.

As much as I do like the art on TMNT #106, something does just feel a bit “off” about it. I have looked over the issue several times and I just can’t quite put my finger on it. Something in it, I am not sure if it just does not quite fit the story or if it is just the way the Turtles heads look? Just something doesn’t just quite fit for me. Not that the art is bad or anything something just feels off.

Conclusion

TMNT #106 is a seemingly strong jumping on point for new readers. After setting up a new status quo in the previous story arc a new era for TMNT begins in this issue. The story sets up a new interesting threat for the crew and gives us a glimpse into what is happening in the world outside of Mutant Town. The art is solid as well, while Campbell will be missed Nelson Daniel’s steps on board. All in all while not the greatest TMNT issue ever it delivers a start to some new interesting avenues for the series to continue.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comic book

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: