Reviews

Review – TMNT #107 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT #107
Overall
7.8/10
7.8/10
  • Writing - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

TMNT #107

Story Consulting: Kevin Eastman and Tom Waltz
Story: Sophie Campbell
Script: Ronda Pattison
Artist: Nelson Daniel
Colorist: Ronda Pattison
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: July 29, 2020

Mousers! A giant monster stealing children! What exactly is happening in Mutant Town? It is up to Splinter Clan to find out, but they might not like what they find in the sewers.

 

“Slithery” TMNT #107

The Splinter Clan goes looking for urban legends in TMNT #107. Children have started to go missing in Mutant Town. Parents are starting to get worried and citizens are a bit on edge. Kids start telling urban legends about the “Slithery”, a slimy creature that kidnaps child Mutants and keeps them in cages in the sewers. Surely there is no truth behind this legend? When orphan Mutant and Splinter Clan student Lita goes missing, the Splinter Clan goes looking.

TMNT #107 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman
TMNT #107 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman

As the group explores the once-familiar sewer system they find something particularly odd…Mousers! But what are Mousers doing in the sewer system of Mutant Town? This could only mean one thing: Mayor Baxter Stockman is up to something. Luckily April O’Neil is only a phone call away. But what is Stockman up to and what does it have to do with the Slithery in TMNT #107?

Writing

Sophie Campbell continues writing duties while colorist extraordinaire Ronda Pattison continues scripting duties on TMNT #107. This issue and issue #106 have been a good “reset” for IDW’s TMNT. Things have been crazy intense since like issue #90, so we finally get back to a little “smaller” type story. 

It is one of those storylines that isn’t exactly going to blow your socks off, but it’s still a good, fun issue and storyline to follow. We are just back to basics and it feels nice, now, to have things back to “normal”. Everything is pretty straightforward in TMNT #107. We get a nice adventure and some interesting setups. We just get a good solid TMNT adventure that I have been missing with all of the craziness happening in the series.

I think I like what this issue sets up for issue #108 more than the actual issue. Won’t go into spoilers, but the cover for the next issue does have me very excited and interested. I think that is the hard thing about “scoring” TMNT #107. The story is good and fun, but it is also not one that I am shouting from the rooftops about, either. 

Art

I have been a little up and down on Nelson Daniel‘s art these past two issues. I like some aspects of it and others not so much. It seems we either get some great background detail or none at all in TMNT #107. I do like the almost Archie comics styling of his TMNT characters. It feels a little “throwback” and appropriate for the story. 

Nelson shows off his best work in the pages with Lita trapped with other young Mutants in the sewers. It is a fantastic few pages that Nelson excels at. I do absolutely love him drawing these child Mutants. They remind me of the old Muppet Babies cartoon and I loved that show! That whole sequence with the kids is just fantastically well done.

I have probably reviewed close to 100 issues with Ronda Pattison as the colorist on TMNT and always have the highest praise, and she continues to do an excellent job on TMNT #107. But there are a few scenes where Donnie’s “purple” mask looks exactly like Leo’s blue mask. Maybe it is because it is a nighttime scene and the darker colors, or it could be my digital review copy, but they look exactly the same. It is a crazy minor thing that doesn’t really matter, but since I always point out how great she is, I had to point it out.

There is a fantastic little scene when Donnie calls April on her cell phone and the caller ID pops up with a green background and Donnie’s name is highlighted in purple on her phone. I thought that was a fun small touch.

Conclusion

Again TMNT #107 is a solid issue all around; from story to art, it is fun and keeps your attention. It is not the most amazing story ever told and maybe doesn’t have the impact of the past few issues, but that’s okay. I like that we are getting kind of just a “regular” type story of our heroes going on a bit of an adventure

The Splinter Clan heads back to familiar territory, in the sewers of NYC. But what they find may be more than they can handle. What are Mousers doing in Mutant Town, and what exactly is the Slithery? Find out in TMNT #107


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png

WOTN on Instagram

  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
%d bloggers like this: